MADISON, Wis. – University of Wisconsin System President Ray Cross and Board of Regents President John Robert Behling appointed an 11-member Search and Screen Committee to help identify the next chancellor of the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater.

In accordance with Regent Policy Document 6-4, the Search and Screen Committee is composed of 10 voting members, including five Regents and five individuals knowledgeable about the duties and responsibilities of the position.

Regent President Behling appointed five Regents to the Search and Screen Committee, which will be chaired by Regent Tracey Klein. President Cross, after consulting with members of UW-Whitewater’s shared governance groups and other members of the university community, appointed the five non-Regent members of the committee, including two faculty members, one staff representative, one student, and one community member. Eric Compas will serve as committee vice chair. President Cross also named one additional non-voting member to represent UW-Whitewater’s Rock County branch campus. It is a non-voting position because the Regent policy for appointments was adopted before the UW System restructuring.

Serving on the Search and Screen Committee are:

  • Chair: Regent Tracey L. Klein
  • Vice chair: Eric Compas, Associate Professor and Director, GIS Center (faculty)
  • Kelly Davis, Vice President of the Whitewater Unified School District Board (community member)
  • Regent Mike Jones
  • Tom Kind, UW-Whitewater Student Body President (student)
  • Regent Regina Millner
  • Regent Janice Mueller
  • Christina Outlay, Associate Professor, Information Technology (faculty)
  • Regent Drew Petersen
  • Kristin Plessel, Associate Professor of Chemistry, UW-Whitewater at Rock County (Rock County representative)
  • Terry Tumbarello, Associate Director, University Housing (staff)

The campus Search and Screen Committee will convene for the first time at 8:30 a.m. on January 28, 2019, at the University Center on the UW-Whitewater campus. At that meeting, Regent President Behling and President Cross will officially charge the committee with its mission, review procedures, and begin the national search.

For more than 150 years, the University of Wisconsin–Whitewater has been inspiring, engaging and transforming the lives of its students, faculty and staff. Founded as a Normal School in 1868, UW-Whitewater is one of the oldest institutions in the University of Wisconsin System. Today the university serves more than 13,000 students at its Whitewater and Rock County campuses and offers an associate degree, 50 undergraduate majors, 13 master’s degree programs, a doctoral degree and an education specialist degree. Degree programs are offered through the colleges of Arts and Communication, Business and Economics, Education and Professional Studies, Integrated Studies and Letters and Sciences.

Media Contacts

Heather LaRoi UW System 608-265-3195
Sara Kuhl UW-Whitewater (262) 472-1194