Regent Policy Documents on Tenure

Approved March 10, 2016

Upcoming Meetings

About the Board

The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System consists of 18 members, 16 of whom are appointed by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate. Of these 16 members, 14 serve staggered, seven-year terms and two are ex officio members. The two ex officio members are the state superintendent of public instruction and the president or a designee of the Wisconsin Technical College System Board. Two UW System students are appointed to the Board for two-year terms; one of the two is a non-traditional student.

The Board is responsible for establishing policies and rules for governing the System, planning to meet future state needs for collegiate education, setting admission standards and policies, reviewing and approving university budgets, and establishing the regulatory framework within which the individual units are allowed to operate with as great a degree of autonomy as possible.  The Board appoints the president of the university system and the chancellors of the 13 universities and UW-Extension and UW Colleges.  The Board grants tenure appointments to faculty members.

The Board’s regular meetings are held eight times per year; special meetings are scheduled as needed.  The appointed Regents serve without pay.  The President, Vice President, and a full-time Executive Director and Corporate Secretary are elected each June during the Board’s annual meeting.  The Board President designates Board committee membership and other appointments.

University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents – October 2015

UW Regents 2015

Seated (left to right): José Vásquez, Margaret Farrow, Drew Petersen, Regent Vice President John Behling, Regent President Regina Millner, UW System President Ray Cross, S. Mark Tyler, Eve Hall and James Langnes III
Standing (left to right): Executive Director Jane Radue, Gerald Whitburn, Michael Grebe, Tony Evers, Charles Pruitt, José Delgado, Edmund Manydeeds, Janice Mueller, Tim Higgins, Nicolas Harsy and Mark Bradley