MADISON — A search and screen committee to find a new chancellor for UW-River Falls has been appointed.

University of Wisconsin System President Katharine Lyall has appointed a 17-member committee, which includes UW-River Falls faculty, staff, students, community members, and a representative from the University of Wisconsin System Administration.

The committee is meeting at UW-River Falls today (Monday, Oct. 11) to receive its charge from President Lyall to recruit a replacement for Chancellor Gary A. Thibodeau, who will be retiring by the start of the next academic year. That meeting will be held from 11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. in Room 140 of the Kleinpell Fine Arts Building, to be followed by the committee’s first organizational meeting from 12:30-2:30 p.m. Both meetings are open to the public.

Lyall will be accompanied by University of Wisconsin System Regent Toby Marcovich, an attorney from Superior, who will chair the Special Regents Committee charged with screening candidates recommended by the campus committee.

Under the process, the committee will conduct a nationwide search for Thibodeau’s replacement. That committee will recommend at least five candidates to President Lyall and the Special Regents Committee, each of whom is qualified and could serve as the next chancellor. President Lyall and the Special Regents Committee select and interview finalists, and make their final recommendation to the 17-member Board of Regents, which makes the final appointment.

Chairing the campus committee will be Suzanne Hagen, professor of speech communication.

Other appointees are:

Faculty: political science Assistant Professor Wes Chapin; sociology, anthropology and criminal justice Professor Brian Copp; health and human performance department Chair Connie Foster; animal & food science Assistant Professor Steven Kelm; chemistry Associate Professor Magdalena Pala; counseling and school psychology Associate Professor Don Stovall; geology Professor Ian Williams; and English Professor Marshall Toman.

Academic Staff: William Campbell, director of grants & research; Lisa Reavill, director of the Academic Success Center.

Students: Amy Jurgens; Sharron Waszkurak.

Community: the Rev. Delbert Permann, First Congregational Church of River Falls; Jeff McCardle, senior business officer, WestConsin Credit Union.

UW-River Falls Administration: Virgil Nylander, vice chancellor for administration & finance.

UW System Administration: Sharon James, UW System associate vice president for academic affairs.

Further information about the search will be available on the UW-River Falls website at


Sharyn Wisniewski, UW System
(608) 262-6448

Mark Kinders, UW River Falls
(715) 425-3771