MADISON―Four members of the University of Wisconsin System’s teaching faculty have earned the 2009 Alliant Energy Underkofler Excellence in Teaching Awards for their outstanding commitment to student success. The annual awards go to four teachers from UW System campuses located within the Alliant Energy service area. This year’s recipients are:

Susan Hagness, professor of electrical and computer engineering, UW-Madison.
Irene Katele, associate director of the legal studies program, UW-Madison.
Theron Parsons, professor of psychology, UW-Platteville.
Aharon Zorea, assistant professor of history, UW-Richland.
UW System President Kevin P. Reilly and representatives of Alliant Energy will present the awards on Oct. 9 in Madison.

“It is a privilege to recognize the dedication of these deserving faculty members who go the extra mile to ensure the all-around success of our undergraduate students,” Reilly said.

This year marks the 17th anniversary of the partnership between the UW System and the Alliant Energy Foundation. The awards are given as a tribute to the energy company’s long-time senior executive, James R. Underkofler, a staunch proponent of excellence in undergraduate teaching.

The award program is administered by the UW System Office of Professional and Instructional Development. A committee of faculty and staff members selects the finalists from candidates who are nominated by eligible institutions.

Media Contact

David Giroux UW System (608) 262-4464