MADISON – Four members of the University of Wisconsin System’s teaching faculty have earned the 2010 Alliant Energy Underkofler Excellence in Teaching Awards for their outstanding commitment to student success. The annual awards go to four teachers from UW System campuses located within the Alliant Energy service area. This year’s recipients are:

  • Christina Curras, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering, UW- Platteville;
  • Norlene Emerson, assistant professor of geography and geology, UW-Richland;
  • John Pruitt, assistant professor of English, UW-Rock County; and
  • David Zimmerman, associate professor of English, UW-Madison.

UW System President Kevin P. Reilly and representatives of Alliant Energy presented the awards on Oct. 15 in Madison.

“It’s a privilege to recognize these deserving educators who are dedicated to preparing their students not only for success in the classroom and laboratory, but also for success in meeting the challenges of the world beyond their college campuses. They each set an exceptional example,” Reilly said.

This year marks the 18th anniversary of the partnership between the UW System and the Alliant Energy Foundation. The awards are given as a tribute to the energy company’s long-time senior executive, James R. Underkofler, a staunch proponent of excellence in undergraduate teaching.

The award program is administered by the UW System Office of Professional and Instructional Development. A committee of faculty and staff members selects the finalists from candidates who are nominated by eligible institutions.

Media Contact

David Giroux UW System (608) 262-4464