MADISON, Wis.—The University of Wisconsin System has announced the 12 honorees of the 2022 Dr. P.B. Poorman Award for Outstanding Achievement on Behalf of LGBTQ+ People, an annual honor given to LGBTQ+ people or their allies who have helped to create a safer and more inclusive climate for LGBTQ+ people. The award celebrates the memory and legacy of Dr. Paula B. Poorman, a highly regarded faculty member at UW-Whitewater dedicated to improving the lives of LGBTQ+ people.

This year marks the 14th anniversary of the founding of the Dr. P.B. Poorman Award. The recipients of the award will be honored on November 10, 2022, in Madison during a ceremony hosted by UW System. The awards ceremony and reception will be held in conjunction with UW System’s presentation of the Outstanding Women of Color in Education Awards.

“Honorees are helping build a better experience for our students, faculty, and staff,” said UW System President Jay Rothman. “This award recognizes their achievements in creating a safer and inclusive climate at our universities.”

The honorees of the 2022 Dr. P.B. Poorman Award for Outstanding Achievement on Behalf of LGBTQ+ People are:

  • Dorothy Chan, Assistant Professor of English, UW-Eau Claire
  • Stacie Christian, Assistant Vice Chancellor of Inclusivity, UW-Green Bay
  • Robert F. Allen, Professor of Mathematics, UW-La Crosse
  • Finn Enke, Professor, Gender & Women’s Studies and History; Director, LGBTQ+ Studies Certificate Program, UW-Madison
  • Luke Olson, Co-chair, Chancellor’s Advisory Committee for LGBTQ+ Advocacy, UW-Milwaukee
  • Kiersten Karlsen, Assistant Dean of Students, UW Oshkosh
  • Beck M. Hanner, Student, President of Alliance for Gender and Sexuality, UW-Platteville
  • Natalie Rodgers, 2022 Graduate, UW-River Falls
  • Missy Habberley, Student Engagement Program Manager, Campus Activities and Student Engagement, UW-Stevens Point
  • Alexandra Hall, Senior Lecturer, Biology, UW-Stout
  • Tammy R. Fanning, Associate Dean of Students, Title IX Coordinator, UW-Superior
  • Robin K. Fox, Interim Provost, UW-Whitewater

Each UW System university was invited to select one individual to receive the award, which highlights each recipient’s contributions to advocacy, activism, or scholarship that enhances the experiences of, and improves the climate for, LGBTQ+ people.

For more information about the award and past recipients, see

2022 Recipients

Download high-resolution photos of the 2022 recipients by clicking on the thumbnail images below.


The University of Wisconsin System serves approximately 161,000 students. Awarding nearly 37,000 degrees annually, the UW System is Wisconsin’s talent pipeline, putting graduates in position to increase their earning power, contribute to their communities, and make Wisconsin a better place to live. Nearly 90 percent of in-state UW System graduates stay in Wisconsin five years after earning a degree – with a median salary of more than $66,000. The UW System provides a 23:1 return on state investment. UW System universities also contribute to the richness of Wisconsin’s culture and economy with groundbreaking research, new companies and patents, and boundless creative intellectual energy.

Media Contact

Mark Pitsch UW System (608) 265-3419