MADISON – University of Wisconsin System President Ray Cross has appointed a 21-member search and screen committee to help identify a successor to UW-Whitewater Chancellor Richard Telfer, who announced on November 17 that he will step down as of June 30, 2015.

Cross appointed 11 UW-Whitewater faculty members, two academic staff members, two classified staff members and two students. They will be joined by two administrators and two community representatives. Dr. Paul Ambrose, Associate Professor of Information Technology and Supply Chain Management, will chair the committee.

Serving on the search and screen committee are:

Paul Ambrose, Associate Professor, Information Technology and Supply Chain Management (chair)
Robert Benjamin, Associate Professor, Physics
Kim Hixson, Associate Professor, Communication
Rashiqa Kamal, Associate Professor, Finance and Business Law
Hephzibah Kumpaty, Professor, Chemistry
Elena Levy-Navarro, Professor, Languages and Literatures
David Munro, Associate Professor, Information Technology and Supply Chain Management
Kristina Navarro, Assistant Professor, Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Coaching
T. Rowand Robinson, Associate Professor, Special Education
David Simmons, Associate Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies
Ozalle Toms, Assistant Professor, Special Education

Academic Staff
Patricia Fragola, Senior Academic Librarian, Andersen Library
Therese Kennedy, Associate Director, Recreation Sports and Facilities

Classified Staff
Denise Ehren, University Services Program Associate, Recreation Sports and Facilities
Wesley Enterline, Program and Policy Analyst, Facilities Planning and Management

Nathan Perry, Senior, Accounting
DeJuan Washington, Senior, Communication

Donald Mash, Executive Senior Special Assistant, President’s Office
Thomas Rios, Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs

Community Representatives
Floyd Bellman, UW-Whitewater Foundation Board
Julie Caldwell, Whitewater community member

Following a national search and an intensive screening process, the committee is expected to recommend no fewer than five candidates as finalists for consideration by the UW System president and a special Board of Regents committee, chaired by Regent Margaret Farrow. Other members of the committee include Regent Vice President Regina Millner, Regent Jan Mueller, and Regent Drew Petersen.

After a series of public presentations and personal interviews, the UW System president and the Regent committee will recommend one individual to the full board, which must approve the appointment.

The campus search committee will convene for the first time at 1 p.m., January 13, 2015, in the Conference Room of Hyland Hall on the UW-Whitewater campus. At that meeting, Cross will officially charge the committee with its mission, review procedures and begin the national search.

Telfer has served as the university’s top administrator since 2008. He has been a member of the UW-Whitewater faculty for 30 years.

The University of Wisconsin-Whitewater is a regional comprehensive university with an enrollment of more than 12,000 students. UW-Whitewater has reached record enrollment four of the last five years and offers 47 majors in four colleges. UW-Whitewater also offers 13 master’s degree programs and recently added a Doctorate of Business Administration. UW-Whitewater students achieve excellence in the classroom and on the playing field. In 2014, UW-Whitewater was the first university in NCAA history at any level to win national championships in football, basketball and baseball. The campus offers more than 200 student organizations and is a vital economic engine for southeastern Wisconsin. UW-Whitewater is situated on 400 acres of land and has an annual budget of more than $219 million.

Media Contacts:

Heather LaRoi
UW System

Jeff Angileri