MADISON — University of Wisconsin System President Katharine Lyall has appointed a 17-member search and screen committee to help select the next chancellor for the University of Wisconsin-Extension. The committee, which includes UW System faculty and staff, as well as community members from across Wisconsin, will meet for the first time on Monday, October 25, from 2:00 to 3:30 p.m. in Room 325 of The Pyle Center. This meeting is open to the public.

UW Regent Guy Gottschalk, President of Gottschalk Cranberry, Inc., Wisconsin Rapids, who chairs the Special Regents Committee charged with screening candidates recommended by the 17-member UW-Extension committee, will join Lyall at Monday’s meeting. They will charge the group to recruit a replacement for Interim Chancellor Albert J. Beaver, who will retire in July 2000. Other members of the Special Regents Committee are Roger Axtell, Patrick Boyle and Frederic Mohs.

“Our goal is to find someone who is as passionate about, and committed to, public service in public higher education as Al Beaver,” said Lyall.

The search and screen committee will conduct a nationwide search for Beaver’s replacement. That committee will recommend at least five candidates to President Lyall and the Special Regents Committee, who will select and interview finalists, and make their final recommendation to the full UW Board of Regents, which makes the appointment.

Chairing the committee will be Lee Cunningham, associate professor of agriculture/agribusiness, Walworth County Extension.

Other appointees are:

Faculty: Bonnie Herrmann, youth development, Milwaukee County Extension; Ed Jesse, agricultural and applied economics, UW-Madison/Extension; Richard Lee, Continuing Education Extension, UW-Whitewater; Pat Malone, community resource development, Trempealeau County Extension; Larry Meiller, agricultural journalism, UW-Madison; Tod Planer, agriculture/agribusiness, Wood County Extension; Kalyani Rai, Center for Urban Community Development, UW-Milwaukee; Rita Kisting Sparks, School of Nursing, UW-Eau Claire.

Academic Staff: Kristine McGrew, Continuing Education UW-Extension; Maria Alvarez Stroud, Wisconsin Public Television.

Community: Ann Haney and Gloria Jones-Bey, Madison; Leonard Johnson, Kenosha; and Don Stevens, Portage.

UW-Extension Administration: Mary Grant, interim associate dean.

UW System Administration: Ed Meachen, associate vice president of learning and information technology.

Further information about the search will be available on the UW-Extension website at

UW-Extension coordinates a spectrum of learning opportunities through educational programs in Cooperative Extension, Extension Communications, including Wisconsin public radio and television, Continuing Education, and Small Business Development Centers. Extension’s collaborative relationships with the 26 UW universities and colleges, the 72 Wisconsin counties, and local, state, and federal agencies and groups, help deliver UW knowledge and resources statewide.


Sharyn Wisniewski, UW System
(608) 262-6448

Doug Bradley, UW-Extension
(608) 262-9871