University of Wisconsin System President Ray Cross announces the members of the new UW System Business Council.  This Council includes key industry leaders from around the state with varied backgrounds, experience, and business perspectives.  This group will meet several times a year to discuss long-term strategic issues and advise the UW System about how the university can continue to meet the needs of Wisconsin.

“This Council enhances our partnerships with businesses and communities as we continue to nurture a vibrant and promising future for Wisconsin,” says President Cross.  “The challenges Wisconsin faces ahead are complex, and the UW System is in a unique position to make a difference and improve the lives of our citizens.  We look forward to this collaboration to better align the UW System with the business community.”

In October 2016, President Cross announced he was forming this Council to increase the dialogue with corporate leaders in response to feedback received during the UW System’s 2020FWD listening sessions.  The purpose of the Council is to strategically align the university with business, community and governmental sectors.

UW System Business Council logo

Member Company Title Community
Jim Johnson Pierce Manufacturing President Appleton
Mark Murphy Green Bay Packers President and CEO Ashwaubenon
Dan Ariens Ariens President and CEO Brillion
Tim Weyenberg Foth Corporation Executive Chairman De Pere
Zach Halmstad JAMF Software Founder Eau Claire
Jose Ortiz, Jr. Mayo Clinic Chief of Medical Staff Eau Claire
Randy Dimond Promega Vice President / Chief Technical Officer Fitchburg
Michael Bond Snap-on Incorporated Supply Diversity Manager Kenosha
Steve Loehr Kwik Trip Vice President La Crosse
Kurt Bauer Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce President and CEO Madison
Tom Still Wisconsin Technology Council President Madison
Jeff Ticknor BMO Harris Bank Senior VP / Group Managing Director Madison
Bob Kamphuis Mayville Engineering Corporation Chairman / President and CEO Mayville
Joann (Jo) Eisenhart Northwestern Mutual Life Senior VP for Human Resources Milwaukee
Mike Falbo Associated Bank Chairman / UW Regent Emeritus Milwaukee
Rebekah Kowalski Right Management VP of Sales Enablement & Solution Integration Milwaukee
Michelle Mettner Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin Corporate VP for Government & Legal Affairs Milwaukee
Jay Rothman Foley & Lardner Chairman and CEO Milwaukee
Rick Schlesinger Milwaukee Brewers Chief Operating Officer Milwaukee
Tim Sheehy Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce President Milwaukee
Jay Williams US Bank Retired Milwaukee
Kathi Siefert Kimberly Clark Former Executive Vice President Neenah
Wilson Jones Oshkosh Truck President and CEO Oshkosh
Ben Salzmann Acuity President and CEO Sheboygan
Rene Daniels North Central Wisconsin Workforce Development Board Executive Director Stevens Point
Cliff King Skyward CEO Stevens Point
Bill Reitman Briggs & Stratton Senior VP / President of Global Support Wauwatosa


Media Contact

University Relations UW System (608) 263-1700