MADISON, Wis. – University of Wisconsin System President Kevin P. Reilly today appointed a 23-member search committee to help identify a new chancellor for the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Chancellor John D. Wiley announced that he will step down in September 2008 after leading the institution since 2001.

UW-Madison, the oldest and largest campus in the UW System, enrolls more than 40,000 students in 136 majors of study and conducts more than $900 million worth of research annually.

“To enhance UW-Madison’s positive impact on the entire state and advance the university’s stellar academic reputation, we need to attract strong leadership in the chancellor’s office,” said Reilly. “This is the beginning of a comprehensive process to recruit and hire someone who can leverage this university’s incredible potential, building upon John Wiley’s record of success.”

Reilly invited nominations from a diverse array of campus constituencies, and used that broad input to appoint a committee comprised of 12 faculty members, two academic staff members, one classified staff member, and one campus dean. They will be joined by four community representatives and one UW System Administration staff member.

Two UW-Madison students will be named to the search committee later this month.  At the request of student government leaders, nominations for student representation on the search committee were delayed until after the winter break. Student members will be named in time for the search committee’s first meeting.

Marsha Mailick Seltzer, Vaughan Bascom Professor of Social Work and Pediatrics at UW-Madison, will chair the search committee. Seltzer, a faculty member for 19 years, earned her undergraduate degree at UW-Madison before going on to earn her PhD at Brandeis University. She also serves as director of the Waisman Center and interim director of the Wisconsin Institute for Discovery.

Members of the UW-Madison Chancellor Search and Screen Committee are as follows:


Paul J. BerticsKellett Professor of Biomolecular Chemistry

Mary “Molly” CarnesProfessor of Medicine, Psychiatry and Industrial and Systems Engineering; Director of the UW Center for Women’s Health Research          

William CrononFrederick Jackson Turner and Vilas Research Professor of History, Geography and Environmental Studies

Mary Louise GomezProfessor of Literacy Studies and Teacher Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction

Robert D. Mathieu Professor of Astronomy; Director of the Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching and Learning; Chair of the University Committee

Anne S. MinerDistinguished Professor of Management and Human Resources

Regina MurphyHarvey D. Spangler Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering

Dan SchaeferProfessor and Chair, Department of Animal Sciences

Marsha Mailick Seltzer (chair)Vaughan Bascom Professor of Social Work and Pediatrics

Aliko SongoloProfessor and Chair of French and Italian; Professor of African Languages and Literature

Sean TeutonAssistant Professor of English and American Indian Studies

Amy WendtProfessor and Co-chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Academic Staff

Carla LoveDistinguished Lecturer, German Department

Tori C. A. RichardsonAssistant Dean, Student Academic Affairs, College of Letters and Science

Classified Staff

Gary MitchellUniversity Services Associate, UW School of Medicine and Public Health


Debbie A. DurcanVice President of Finance, University of Wisconsin System

Bob GoldenDean, UW School of Medicine and Public Health; Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs; Professor of Psychiatry


Paula BonnerPresident and CEO of the Wisconsin Alumni Association 

John MorgridgeChairman Emeritus of Cisco Systems Inc.; Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation Board of Trustees; former member of the UW Foundation Board of Directors

Winslow SargeantManaging Director of Venture Investors, LLC; Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation Board of Trustees; Waisman Center Board of Visitors

Jay SmithPresident of Teel Plastics; former President of the UW System Board of Regents


(Two UW-Madison Students will be named before January 25)

Following a national search and intensive screening process, the committee is expected to recommend five candidates as finalists to Reilly and a special Board of Regents committee chaired by Regent David G. Walsh of Madison. Other Regents on the committee include Regent President Mark J. Bradley, Regent Vice President Chuck Pruitt, Tom Loftus, and Colleene P. Thomas.

Thomas, a UW-Madison student, will be the first student regent to serve on a special Board of Regents chancellor selection committee.

The campus search committee will convene for the first time on January 25 at 2 p.m. in Bascom Hall, room 260 on the UW-Madison campus. At that meeting, Walsh and Reilly will officially charge the committee with its mission and roles, review procedures, and launch the search process.

Media Contact

Amy E. Toburen UW-Madison 608-262-0925