MADISON, Wis. – With the successful conclusion of three simultaneous chancellor searches, the University of Wisconsin System now turns its attention to recruiting and hiring new leaders for UW-Green Bay and UW-River Falls.

UW System President Kevin P. Reilly today appointed a 21-member search and screen committee to help identify the next chancellor for UW-Green Bay.

After serving at his post since 2001, Chancellor Bruce Shepard announced last month that he will step down at the end of June to become the next president of Western Washington University.

Reilly appointed 11 faculty members, two academic staff members, one classified staff member, and two student representatives to the committee. They are joined by one UW System administrator, one campus vice chancellor, and three community representatives.

Members of the UW-Green Bay Chancellor Search and Screen Committee are as follows:

Denise Scheberle (chair)Professor and Chair of Public and Environmental Affairs
Lucy Arendt – Assistant Professor of Business Administration
Derryl Block – Professor and Chair of Nursing
Rosemary Christensen – Associate Professor of Humanistic Studies
Jeff Entwistle –Professor of Arts and Visual Design
Bob Howe ­­– Barbara Hauxhurst Cofrin Professor of Natural Sciences
Ray Hutchison ­­– Professor and Chair of Urban and Regional Studies
Tim Kaufman – Associate Professor and Chair of Education
Judy Martin – Professor of Social Work
Kim Nielsen –Professor of Social Change and Development
Marilyn Sagrillo – Associate Professor and Chair of Business Administration

Academic Staff
Jennifer Pfundtner –
Assistant Director, Admissions
Paula Ganyard – University Webmaster

Classified Staff
Elizabeth DeLaGarza Hessler –
University Services Program Associate

Ricky Staley
President of Student Government Association
Jamie Stephenson

David Miller –
Associate Vice President, UW System
Steve Swan – Assistant Chancellor, University Advancement

Paul Jadin – President, Green Bay Area Chamber of Commerce
Celestine Jeffreys Member, Green Bay City Council
Virginia Riopelle – Vice Chair, UW-Green Bay Chancellor’s Council of Trustees


Following an intensive search and screening process, the committee is expected to recommend five candidates as finalists for consideration by Reilly and a special Board of Regents committee chaired by Regent Judy Crain of Green Bay. Other Regents on the committee include Mary Quinnette Cuene, Michael Falbo, Eileen Connolly-Keesler and Betty Womack.

The campus search committee will convene for the first time at 10 a.m., June 11, 2008, in Fort Howard Hall of the Weidner Center for the Performing Arts on the UW-Green Bay campus. At that meeting Crain and Reilly will officially charge the committee with its mission and roles, review procedures, and launch the search process.

Media Contacts

Mike Heine UW-Green Bay (920) 465-2526
David Giroux UW System (608) 262-4464