MADISON – The University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents today presented three Teaching Excellence Awards at its regular meeting in Madison. The recipients are two individual faculty members and one department. Each received an inscribed plaque and a check for $5,000, to be used for professional development purposes.

This year’s recipients are:

Professor Joan E. Thron
Department of Education and Humanistic Studies
UW-Green Bay

Professor Charles R. Young
Chair, Department of Music Theory and Composition
Director, Computer Music Center
UW-Stevens Point

Department of Geography and Geology
UW Colleges
[Chair: Professor Keith Montgomery, UW-Marathon County]

The Board of Regents instituted the awards in 1992 as a way of recognizing and rewarding the UW System’s finest teachers and departments. Presentation of the awards was made by Regents Jose Olivieri and Joe Alexander. The awards ceremony, which included responses by the recipients, was a reminder, said UW System President Katharine Lyall, “that teaching and learning remain the cornerstones of our university system.”

The awards program is administered by the UW System Office of Professional and Instructional Development and was funded this year, in part, by gifts in memory of the late Paul Schilling, a former member and president of the UW System Board of Regents.


Kevin Boatright, UW System
(608) 263-2227