MADISON — Academic staff members from UW-Madison and UW-La Crosse have each been named recipients of the 1999 Regents Administrative and Professional Academic Staff Excellence Award for Outstanding Service. The awards will be presented May 7 during the regular meeting of the Board of Regents, to be held at UW-Parkside. Additional recognition will be given this summer at the annual Academic Staff Leadership Conference.

The two recipients are Elizabeth Steinberg, assistant director of the University of Wisconsin Press at UW-Madison, and Jim Jorstad, director of media services at UW-La Crosse. Each will receive an award in the amount of $5,000, to be used for professional development or to enhance a university program or function.

Selection of the two recipients was made April 13 by a committee composed of Regents Virginia MacNeil, Frederic Mohs, Jose Olivieri and Grant Staszak. MacNeil served as chair of the committee.

“The entire committee was impressed by the quality of the nominations from the various institutions,” said MacNeil. “The committee had a difficult choice, but we felt Elizabeth Steinberg and James Jorstad were especially worthy of recognition.” She added that “Academic staff contribute a great deal to the UW System, and the Board of Regents appreciates their outstanding creativity and commitment.”

Steinberg joined the staff of the University of Wisconsin Press in 1961 as assistant editor. She became associate editor in 1964 and chief editor in 1966, prior to assuming her present position in 1986. Her background includes an A.B. degree from Smith College and an M.A. degree from UW-Madison. During the past decade, she has served on the University Library Committee and been a member of campus committees concerned with intellectual property issues and the future of academic publishing.

David Bethea, interim director of the Press, nominated her for the award. “Betty Steinberg is, for me, the `soul’ of the University of Wisconsin Press,” said Bethea. “She is an utter professional [who] cares passionately about the quality of what we produce.” He described the award as “a fitting capstone to a career that has meant a great deal to many at this university and beyond.”

Jim Jorstad joined UW-La Crosse in his present position in 1984. His background includes a B.S. degree from UW-La Crosse and an M.A. degree from the University of Iowa. He is currently president of the Wisconsin Educational Media Council and a past-president of the International Television Association (ITVA) of Wisconsin. He has received numerous awards over the years for his videotape productions and photography.

In a letter supporting Jorstad’s nomination, Chancellor Judith Kuipers called him “a leading force in bringing UW-La Crosse’s classrooms into the 21st century” and “a catalyst in getting the campus on-line,” who “has brought a refreshing customer-oriented attitude to his division.” Another letter described Jorstad as “the prime mover in promoting and supporting new distance education ventures at UW-La Crosse,” and “a respected and valued citizen in the broader university community.”

Each institution in the UW System was invited to nominate one individual for the annual recognition program. Eligibility was limited to non-instructional academic staff with administrative or scientific/research appointments. Selection criteria included excellence of performance, personal interaction, initiative and creativity, and outstanding achievement.


Kevin Boatright
(608) 263-2227