MADISON – The University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents approved name changes today for several of the former two-year UW Colleges campuses which now operate as branch campuses of comprehensive and research institutions under the UW System’s restructuring initiative that took effect July 1.

UW-Barron County’s new name was approved at the June Board meeting. UW-Oshkosh will propose name changes for UW-Fox Valley and UW-Fond du Lac at a future meeting.

Former Two-Year Campus Names New Two-Year Campus Names
UW-Barron County University of Wisconsin–Eau Claire – Barron County



University of Wisconsin–Green Bay, Manitowoc Campus

University of Wisconsin–Green Bay, Marinette Campus

University of Wisconsin–Green Bay, Sheboygan Campus

UW-Washington County


University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee at Washington County

University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee at Waukesha

UW-Baraboo/Sauk County


University of Wisconsin–Platteville Baraboo Sauk County

University of Wisconsin–Platteville Richland

UW-Marathon County

UW-Marshfield/Wood County

University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point at Wausau

University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point at Marshfield

UW-Rock County University of Wisconsin-Whitewater at Rock County

The Regents unanimously approved the UW System restructuring project in December 2017. UW System formally submitted its application to restructure to the Higher Learning Commission in January and the HLC approved the application in June.

Media Contact

Heather LaRoi UW System 608-265-3195