MADISON — —University of Wisconsin System Board of Regents’ President Toby E. Marcovich announced the finalists for the position of President of the University of Wisconsin System today.

An 18-member search-and-screen committee considered 32 candidates and recommended four to the regent selection committee, which Marcovich of Superior co-chairs with former Regent president Guy Gottschalk of Wisconsin Rapids. The selection committee will interview the presidential finalists on July 22 and then make its recommendation to the full board. The Board of Regents will meet and take final action on naming a president to replace Katharine C. Lyall, following that interview process.

Other members of the presidential selection committee are Regents Roger E. Axtell of Janesville, Mark J. Bradley of Wausau, Danae Davis of Milwaukee and David Walsh of Madison.

The finalists, their titles and appointments are as follows:

  • Elizabeth Capaldi
    Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff of the State University of New York (SUNY) System (Albany); former Provost and Professor of Psychology at the University at Buffalo, SUNY
  • Steven C. Gunderson
    Senior Consultant and Managing Director of The Greystone Group, Inc.(Washington, DC); Eight-term Congressman representing the Third Congressional District in Wisconsin; Wisconsin State Legislator, 1974-79
  • Kevin Reilly
    Chancellor, University of Wisconsin-Extension (Madison); former UW-Extension Provost; former Associate Provost for Academic Programs and Secretary of the University for SUNY (Albany).
  • David R. Smith, MD
    Chancellor of the Texas Tech University System (Lubbock); former Commissioner of the Texas Department of Health; former Senior Vice President of Parkland Memorial Hospital in Dallas.

The person selected will become the sixth president of the University of Wisconsin System, succeeding Katharine C. Lyall who is retiring at the end of August.

For further information:

Media Contact

Doug Bradley UW System 608-265-0548