MADISON—University of Wisconsin System President Katharine C. Lyall today announced the appointment of a 27-member search-and-screen committee that will help identify a successor to UW-Milwaukee Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher.

The campus/community search-and-screen committee will be chaired by William Holahan, UWM professor of economics. He will be joined by 13 other UWM faculty members, two academic staff members, two students, two university administrators and seven community members.

The committee will conduct its work during the fall and winter, and will recommend at least five candidates who could replace Zimpher, who has accepted the presidency of the University of Cincinnati. Lyall and a special committee of the UW System Board of Regents will then conduct final interviews and make a recommendation to the full board.

Holahan noted that the selection of the next chancellor at UW-Milwaukee is of great import to the economic development of Southeast Wisconsin.

“Both UWM and the region are on the brink of greatness,” Holahan said. “Our next leader will play a pivotal role in the success of both.”

Members of the UW-Milwaukee Chancellor Search and Screen Committee are as follows:

  • Faculty: Wanda Blanchett, associate professor of education; Karen Brucks, associate professor of math sciences; Kathryn Dindia, professor of communication; Marija Gajdardziska-Josifovska, professor of physics; Rene Gratz, professor of health sciences; William Holahan, professor of economics; Gunol Kojasoy, professor of mechanical engineering; Charles Kroncke, professor of business administration; Mark Krueger, professor, Youth Work Learning Center; Marc Levine, professor of history and the Center for Economic Development; Ron Perez, associate professor of mechanical engineering; Mark Schwartz, professor of geography; Mark Srite, assistant professor of business administration; and J. Rudi Strickler, professor at the Great Lakes WATER Institute.
  • Academic Staff: James Dicker, lecturer, School of Architecture & Urban Planning; Jennifer McKenzie-Flynn, director of advancement/public affairs, College of Letters & Science.
  • Students: Mary Ryan, senior political science major; Seth Schneider, graduate student in anthropology.
  • Administrators: William Robert Bucker, dean, Peck School of the Arts; Freda Harris, associate vice president for budget and planning, UW System.
  • Community: Christopher Abele, Argosy Foundation; Dan Bader, president, Helen Bader Foundation; Joseph Czarnezki, president of the UW-Milwaukee Alumni Association; Ricardo Diaz, executive director, United Community Center; Jill Pelisek, UW-Milwaukee Foundation; June Perry, president, New Concept Self Development Center, Inc.; Tim Sheehy, president, Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce.

Lyall appointed the committee after broad consultation with the university community, alumni and donors, regents and others. She has asked six community members to serve on the committee because finalists must not only be talented administrators and scholars but also skilled in external relations and fundraising.

The Special Regent Committee for the UW-Milwaukee Chancellor Search is chaired by Regent Jose A. Olivieri. Joining him on the committee are Regents Elizabeth Burmaster, Danae D. Davis, Charles Pruitt and Beth Richlen.


Note to News Media

President Lyall, Regent Olivieri and members of the Special Regent Committee will meet with the campus/community search-and-screen committee on Thursday (Sept. 25) from 4-7 p.m. in Room 171 of the Helene Zelazo Center for the Performing Arts, 2419 East Kenwood Blvd. The committee will receive its charge and discuss the process. There will also be a review of the position description and an opportunity for committee members to ask questions. This is an open meeting.

Media Contact

Erik Christianson UW System 608-262-5061