MADISON ― Four University of Wisconsin System professors described by students as “dedicated” and “inspiring” have earned the 2004 Alliant Energy Underkofler Excellence in Teaching Awards.  The annual honors go to four outstanding teachers from UW System campuses located within the Alliant service area.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Kevin Bernhardt, Associate Professor of Agriculture, UW-Platteville; and Risk Management Specialist, UW-Extension.
  • Howard Erlanger, Professor of Law and Sociology, UW-Madison.
  • Thomas Kleese, Assistant Professor of Art, UW-Richland.
  • Eric Wilcots, Professor of Astronomy, UW-Madison.

UW System President Kevin P. Reilly will present this year’s awards at a ceremony in the Beefeaters Room of the UW-Madison Memorial Union, 800 Langdon Street, on Friday, Oct. 15.

“The UW System is proud to honor the ability of these individuals to transform lives, and to help students become a part of something larger ― whether that ‘something’ is a community of learners, an academic discipline, or the world outside the academy,” Reilly said.

The awards program represents a 13-year-old partnership between the UW System and the Wisconsin Power and Light (WPL) Foundation, now part of Alliant Energy.

The awards are given in honor of James R. Underkofler, a long-time senior executive with the company, who retired in 1990.  The awards pay tribute to Underkofler’s enduring interest in encouraging and promoting undergraduate teaching excellence.

The awards program is administered by the UW System Office of Professional and Instructional Development.  A UW System committee composed of faculty and teaching academic staff selects the finalists from candidates nominated by eligible institutions.

Media Contact

Doug Bradley UW System 608-265-0548