Underkofler Excellence in Teaching award winners with President Reilly

(from left) President Reilly, Marc R. Shelstrom, Karl Byrand, Larry Edgerton, and Scott E. Walter

MADISON ―Four professors whom University of Wisconsin System students describe as “engaging” and “passionate” have earned the 2005 Alliant Energy Underkofler Excellence in Teaching Awards.  The annual honors go to four outstanding teachers from UW System campuses located within the Alliant service area. This year’s recipients are:

  • Karl Byrand, assistant professor of geography, UW-Sheboygan.
  • Larry Edgerton, faculty associate, Academic Advancement Program and English, UW-Madison.
  • Marc R. Shelstrom, professor of industrial studies, building construction management, and technology education, UW-Platteville.
  • Scott E. Walter, assistant professor of biological sciences, UW-Richland.

UW System President Kevin P. Reilly will present this year’s awards at a ceremony at Van Hise Hall, 1220 Linden Drive, on Friday, Oct. 21, at 2 p.m.

“We are proud to have such extraordinary educators in the UW System,” Reilly said. “The Underkofler Award fittingly acknowledges their accomplishments as influential teachers, mentors, and advisers for the students who will shape the future of Wisconsin.”

The awards program represents a 14-year-old partnership between the UW System and the Wisconsin Power and Light (WPL) Foundation, now part of Alliant Energy. They are given in honor of James R. Underkofler, a long-time senior executive with the company, who retired in 1990, and pay tribute to Underkofler’s enduring interest in encouraging and promoting undergraduate teaching excellence. Mr. Underkofler is expected to attend this year’s ceremony.

The Underkofler Awards program is administered by the UW System Office of Professional and Instructional Development.  A UW System committee composed of faculty and teaching academic staff selects the finalists from candidates nominated by eligible institutions.

Media Contact

Doug Bradley UW System 608-265-0548