MADISON — University of Wisconsin System President Katharine Lyall today announced the names of four finalists for the position of chancellor of UW- Platteville.

The names have been forwarded to the Board of Regents’ Special Committee for the UW-Platteville Chancellorship, chaired by Regent President Michael W. Grebe, which will interview the finalists June 25 in Madison. Other committee members are Regents Brigit E. Brown, Kathleen J. Hempel, Ruth M. James and George K. Steil, Sr. The full Board of Regents will take final action once it receives a recommendation from the Special Committee.

The finalists, their titles, and institutions are as follows:

  • Dr. Albert J. Beaver
    Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
    University of Wisconsin System
  • Dr. Vicki Lord Larson
    Provost and Vice Chancellor
  • Dr. David J. Markee
    Vice President for Institutional Advancement
    Northern Arizona University
  • Dr. Dennis N. Nielsen
    Vice President for Academic Affairs
    Winona (MN) State University

A 15-member campus/community search and screen committee, chaired by Charles W. Collins, professor of geography and geology at UW-Platteville, submitted its recommendations to President Lyall on June 11. The four finalists were chosen from among 65 applications.

The person chosen by the Regents will become UW-Platteville’s 13th chancellor, succeeding Robert Culbertson. Culbertson resigned as chancellor in January to return to teaching and research after a 20-year career in higher education administration.