MADISON – University of Wisconsin System President Katharine C. Lyall today announced the names of the five finalists for the position of chancellor of UW-Oshkosh.

The names have been forwarded to the Board of Regents’ Special Committee for the UW-Oshkosh Chancellor Search, chaired by Regent JoAnne Brandes, which will interview the finalists in Madison on July 19. Other committee members are Regents Joe Alexander, Alfred De Simone, and Gerard Randall. The Board of Regents will take final action once it receives a recommendation from the Special Committee.

The finalists, their titles and current institutions are as follows:

  • Robert Brown
    Arkansas Tech University (Russellville, Arkansas)
  • Dan Johnson
    University of Alaska Anchorage (Anchorage, Alaska)
  • Vicki Lord Larson
    Provost and Vice Chancellor
    University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh (Oshkosh, Wisconsin)
  • James Scanlon
    Youngstown State University (Youngstown, Ohio)
  • Richard Wells
    Provost and Vice President
    Indiana State University (Terre Haute, Indiana)

A 17-member campus/community search and screen committee, chaired by Dale Feinauer, professor of management and human resources, submitted its recommendations to President Lyall in Oshkosh on July 7.

The person chosen by the Regents will become UW-Oshkosh’s 10th chancellor, succeeding Dr. John Kerrigan. Chancellor Kerrigan announced in February that he would step down August 31 after 10 years at UW-Oshkosh.


Kevin Boatright, UW System
(608) 263-2227