MADISON, Wis. – Four University of Wisconsin System students will receive this year’s Alliant Energy/Erroll B. Davis Jr. Achievement Awards, recognizing outstanding scholarship and community service.

  • Tera Burr of UW-Platteville expects to graduate in May with a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering and a minor in Spanish. Tera is a member of the Tau Beta Pi engineering honor society and has been involved in the American Society of Civil Engineers and served as vice president of the Institute of Transportation Engineers.
  • Andrew Elizondo plans to receive his Bachelor of Science degree in Engineering Mechanics and Astronautics from UW-Madison in May. He has served in leadership roles with Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers and serves as the regional student representative for all student chapters within Region VI.
  • Jubencio Linares Jr. received his Bachelor of Science degree in Mechanical Engineering from UW-Platteville in December.  Jubencio held leadership positions in the Student Organization of Latinos and the Engineering, Mathematics and Science Diversity Committee, served as president of the Society of Automotive Engineers, and was a member of the Formula SAE team. Upon graduation, he accepted a position with John Deere Dubuque Works.
  • Christine Ly expects to receive her Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Accounting in May from UW-Madison.  A first-generation college student, Christine participated in the Chancellor’s Scholars Program. She is the co-president of the Multicultural Business Student Association and is a member of Beta Alpha Psi. She also has volunteered to help people with lower incomes file their income taxes.

The award-winners will be honored Friday at a 12 p.m. luncheon at the Pyle Center in Madison.  Award presenters will include UW System President Kevin P. Reilly, UW System Senior Vice President Rebecca Martin, and Barbara Swan, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Chief Administrative Officer for Alliant Energy.

“By contributing their time and energy to helping others, these exceptional students have played a unique role in shaping and enriching the university experience both for themselves and for those around them,” Reilly said. “By their actions, they have helped to foster a learning environment where students from all backgrounds can succeed and thrive – and that’s something that UW System endorses with enthusiasm.”

Each award-winner will receive a $2,500 award.

The awards are made possible by the Alliant Energy Foundation, which established a $400,000 endowment fund in 2007 in honor of former Alliant Energy CEO Erroll B. Davis, Jr. The award-recipients represent undergraduate students from traditionally underrepresented minority groups pursuing degrees in Engineering or Business, two degrees held by Davis, who now serves as Chancellor for the University of Georgia System.  Recipients must be enrolled at either UW-Madison or UW-Platteville, campuses in regions of the state where Alliant Energy provides energy services.

Media Contact

David Giroux UW System (608) 262-4464