Two $5,000 awards are given to faculty and academic staff members at UW System institutions in recognition of outstanding career achievement in teaching. In addition, one $5,000 award is given to an academic department, program or other academic unit which demonstrates exceptional commitment to and effectiveness in teaching. The Regents Teaching Excellence Awards are administered by the systemwide Office for Academic and Student Affairs.

Teaching Excellence Award Recipients


Regents honor outstanding UW System teachers (June 2, 2016, news release)

Regents bestow UW System’s highest honors for teaching excellence (June 10 news summary)

(from left) President Ray Cross, Dr. Susan Huss-Lederman, Dr. William Mode, Dr. Brenda R. O’Beirne, Regent President Regina Millner, and Regent Janice Mueller

(from left) Regent Margaret Farrow, Dr. William Mode, and Regent President Regina Millner

William N. Mode

Professor, Department of Geology, UW-Oshkosh

(from left) Regent Michael M. Grebe, Dr. Susan Huss-Lederman, and Regent President Regina Millner

Susan Huss-Lederman

Professor, Department of Languages and Literatures, UW-Whitewater

(from left) Regent James Langnes, Dr. Brenda O'Beirne, and Regent President Regina Millner

Department of Counselor Education, UW-Whitewater

Award accepted by Department Chair Brenda O’Beirne


Regents honor outstanding UW System teachers (March 24, 2015, news release)

Regents salute System’s outstanding teachers (April 10, 2015, news summary)

Dr. Gregory S. Aldrete, Professor of History, UW-Green Bay

Gregory S. Aldrete

Professor, Department of History, UW-Green Bay

Photo of Dr. Shubhangi Stalder, Professor of Mathematics, UW-Waukesha

Shubhangi Stalder

Professor, Department of Mathematics, UW-Waukesha

Photo of Dr. Rebecca Ledocq, Chair of the UW-La Crosse Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics, UW-La Crosse

Award accepted by Dr. Rebecca (Becky) LeDocq, department chair


UW-Green Bay Associate Professor Clifton Ganyard

Clifton Ganyard

Associate Professor, Department of Humanistic Studies, UW-Green Bay

UW-Platteville Professor Matthew Roberts

Matthew Roberts

Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, UW‑Platteville

UW-River Falls Professor Mark Bergland

Department of Biology, UW-River Falls

Award accepted by Professor Mark Bergland, department chair


Christopher Coe

Professor, Department of Psychology, UW-Madison

UW-Parkside Associate Professor Peggy James

Peggy James

Associate Professor, Department of Politics, Philosophy and Law, UW-Parkside

UW-La Crosse Professor David Howard

Department of Biology, UW-La Crosse

Award accepted by Professor David Howard, department chair


UW-Milwaukee Professor of Architecture Don Hanlon

Don Hanlon

Professor of Architecture, UW-Milwaukee

UW-La Crosse Associate Professor Jennifer Kosiak

Jennifer Kosiak

Associate Professor of Mathematics Education, UW-La Crosse

First Year Interest Groups

First-Year Interest Groups (FIGs) Program, UW-Madison


UW-Milwaukee Professor Craig Berg

Craig Berg

Professor of Curriculum and Instruction, School of Education, UW-Milwaukee

UW-Green Bay Professor Regan A.R. Gurung

Regan A.R. Gurung

Ben J. & Joyce Rosenberg Professor of Human Development and Psychology, UW-Green Bay

Regent Manydeeds with UW-Green Bay Professional Program in Education

Professional Program in Education, UW-Green Bay