On December 12, 2012, the Board of Regents adopted Regent Policy Document 20-20, under which effective July 1, 2013, university staff may participate in institutional governance.

The Board policy states:

This policy enables active participation in the immediate decision-making and policy development of the institution. Active participation in governance for University Staff under this policy is not collective bargaining and will not result in a labor agreement or contract. University Staff may make recommendations, consider proposals, and raise concerns to institutional leadership.

The Board policy also provides that University Staff shall have the right to structure themselves in a manner that they determine, and to select their representatives to participate in institutional governance.

The University of Wisconsin System has a longstanding tradition of shared decision making with the faculty, academic staff, and students. The adoption of Regent Policy Document 20-20 is consistent with the principle that classified staff should have a voice in the development of the policies and procedures that directly affect their work lives.


Click an institution name to view its university staff shared governance group’s website.
Institution 2022-23 Chair Representative
UW-Eau Claire Nicole Owen
Sally Eckwright
UW-Green Bay Kim Mezger
Teri Ternes
Kate LaCount (Alternate)
UW-La Crosse Terry Stika
Karen DeSchepper
UW-Madison Terry Fritter
Tammy Herbst-Koel
Carol Pope
UW-Milwaukee Stan Yasaitis
Gail Dukes (Vice Chair)
Stan Yasaitis
UW-Oshkosh Linda Koon
Linda Koon
UW-Parkside Sherry Craig (Co-Chair)
Julie Lee (Co-Chair)
Sherry Craig
Julie Lee
UW-Platteville Tim Zasada
Stephanie Young (Vice Chair)
Tammie Engelke
UW-River Falls Jody Sather
Jody Sather
UW-Stevens Point Sierra Verbockel (Co-chair)
Lisa Nelson (Co-Chair)
Lisa Nelson
UW-Stout Jamie Bowe (Co-Chair)
Julie Delikowski (Co-Chair)
Jason Jenson (Interim Vice Chair)
Jason Jenson
UW-Superior Kathleen O’Flanagan
Kathleen O’Flanagan
UW System Administration Jeremy Johanski (Chair)
Jennifer White
UW-Whitewater Jacqui Palcic
Jacqui Palcic

2021-22 Meetings