Board of Regents

The Board of Regents establishes the policies and rules governing the University of Wisconsin System, conducts planning to meet future needs for university education in the state, sets admission standards and policies, reviews and approves university budgets, and establishes the regulatory framework within which individual units operate. The Board of Regents appoints the President of the Universities of WIsconsin and the Chancellors of the 13 universities. It also grants tenure appointments to qualified faculty members. The Board holds regular meetings eight times per year.

UW System Board of Regents, February 2023

UW System Board of Regents, February 2023
Standing (L-R): Robert Atwell, Jill Underly, Angela Adams, Héctor Colόn, Joan Prince, Mike Jones, Dana Wachs, Edmund Manydeeds III.
Seated (L-R): Kyle Weatherly, Cris Peterson, Regent Vice President Amy Bogost, Regent President Karen Walsh, UW System President Jay Rothman, John Miller, Scott Beightol.
Not pictured: Rodney Pasch, Ashok Rai, Jennifer Staton, Brianna Tucker
Photo by Althea Dotzour, UW–Madison


As chief executive officer, the President of the Universities of Wisconsin has full executive responsibility for the operation and management of the UW System. The Vice Presidents and Chancellors report to the President. University of Wisconsin System Administration is involved in every aspect of UW System’s broad mission.

Photo of Jay O. Rothman

Jay O. Rothman

President of the Universities of Wisconsin

Office of the President

Jess Lathrop

Chief of Staff

Office of the President

Photo of Johannes Britz

Johannes Britz

Interim Senior Vice President for Academic & Student Affairs

Division of Academic & Student Affairs

Jeff Buhrandt

Vice President for University Relations

Division of University Relations

Sean Nelson

Vice President for Finance and Administration

Division of Finance & Administration


As executive heads of their respective faculties and universities, the Chancellors are responsible for the administration of their units including degree requirements; academic standards; grading systems; faculty appointments, evaluation, promotion, and recommendations for tenure; auxiliary services; and budgetary management.

UW-Eau Claire
James Schmidt
105 Garfield Ave.
Eau Claire, WI 54702

Jennifer L. Mnookin
500 Lincoln Dr.
Madison, WI 53706

Lynn Akey

Lynn Akey
Wyllie Hall 353
900 Wood Rd.
Kenosha, WI 53144

Photo of Thomas Gibson

UW-Stevens Point
Thomas Gibson
2100 Main St.
Stevens Point, WI 54481

Dr. Corey King
800 W. Main St.
Whitewater, WI 53190

Photo of Michael Alexander, UW-Green Bay Chancellor

UW-Green Bay
Michael Alexander
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311

Mark Mone
PO Box 413
Milwaukee, WI 53201

UW-Platteville Chancellor Tammy Evetovich

Tammy Evetovich
1 University Plaza
Platteville, WI 53818

Photo of Katherine P. Frank, UW-Stout Chancellor

Katherine P. Frank
712 S. Broadway
Menomonie, WI 54751

UW-La Crosse
Betsy Morgan (interim)
1725 State St.
La Crosse, WI 54601

UW Oshkosh
Andrew J. Leavitt
800 Algoma Blvd.
Oshkosh, WI 54901

Photo of Dr. Maria Gallo, UW-River Falls Chancellor

UW-River Falls
Maria Gallo
410 South Third St.
River Falls, WI 54022

Photo of UW-Superior Chancellor Renee Wachter

Renée Wachter
Belknap & Catlin
Superior, WI 54880