About UW System

photo of UW student attending lecture

The University of Wisconsin System is one of the largest systems of public higher education in the country, serving approximately 180,000 students each year and employing more than 40,000 faculty and staff statewide.

The UW System is made up of

  • 13 four-year universities,
  • 13 freshman-sophomore UW Colleges campuses, and
  • statewide UW-Extension.

Together, these institutions are a tremendous academic, cultural, and economic resource for Wisconsin, the nation, and the world.

UW System at a Glance

Fall Enrollment:
  Approximately 180,000
  13 four-year universities
13 freshman-sophomore UW Colleges campuses
Statewide UW-Extension
Annual Budget:
  $6.0 billion
State Funding:
  $1.2 billion
Gifts, Grants and Contracts Awarded:
  $1.5 billion
Economic Impact:
  $15+ billion annually
Annual Degrees Awarded:
  More than 36,000

Fact Book cover
  UW System Fact Book
A reference guide to:
Accountability cover

Accountability Report: "Investing in Wisconsin's Future"
Similar to the way corporations report to their stockholders, this annual report outlines how the university system holds itself accountable annually to students, alumni and Wisconsin citizens as it serves its students and the state of Wisconsin.

Introduction to the UW Sytem cover

Introduction to the UW System
Overview of UW campuses and admissions guidelines for prospective students and school counselors.

UW system profile


Profile of the UW System
Two-page profile of the UW System with a focus on statewide economic development initiatives. (From Wisconsin: A Tradition of Innovation by Cherbo Publishing Group)