The Shared Financial System (SFS) was originally implemented in 1999, and is currently operating using PeopleSoft version 9.1.  Modules included in the SFS application are the General Ledger (GL), Accounts Payable (AP), Purchasing (PO), Asset Management (AM), Project Costing (PC), Commitment Control (KK), Travel and Expense (EX), and the Grants Suite (GM, CA, BI, AR, and PC), as well as a number of bolt-on applications.  The SFS application also has many partner systems with which it interfaces including: the Human Resource System (HRS), the Journal Entry Tool (JET), and the WISDM/WISER data warehouse.

This page contains general SFS information about SFS availability and support, the SFS governance and decision making structure, and support contacts both at UWSA and at each of the institutions that make up the UW System.

SFS Contacts

SFS Contacts

There are number of team members at UWSA who support the SFS application. While the best way to contact this team for help is always to email the SFS team at uwsaproblemsolvers, the individual contact information for the SFS team is included below. We have also identified representative(s) at each institution to serve as point people for decisions and support, and to help coordinate efforts or initiatives at the end-user level. For your reference, their contact information is also included below.

Email SFS Team

Email list for any UWSA support: uwsaproblemsolvers@maillist.uwsa.edu

Please send your support requests to the problemsolvers maillist for an expedited response, in lieu of directly contacting the following support specialists.


Name & Email Link
Primary Support AreaPhone
Nicki BurtonSFS Director608-890-1632
Jon AholaGeneral Ledger, Asset Management608-265-2232
Kirk AndersonGrants (Pre-Award, Post-Award)608-263-1190
Linda DiringHRS/Payroll,  JET608-890-2839
Scott LarsonSecurity, Reporting (WISDM, WISER)608-890-1698
Denise McDonaldePro, Purchasing608-890-3208
Laura ParmanAccounts Payable608-262-4318
Sharon SchwartzTravel & Expense, Person Data608-890-3209
Stacy VanWormernVision, Purchasing608-890-2977
Beth VerebAccounts Payable608-265-5792

Updated 06/30/16

InstitutionName  & Email LinkEmailPhone
UW CollegesLaurie Grigglaurie.grigg@uwc.edu608-263-3191
 Shelley Millershelley.miller@uwc.edu608-890-1926
UW Eau ClaireJackie Krieselkriesejd@uwec.edu715-836-2520
UW ExtensionTricia Johnsontricia.johnson@uwex.edu608-262-1979
 Jessica Hawkeyjessica.hawkey@uwex.edu608-265-6787
UW Green BayLisa Jackovichjackovil@uwgb.edu920-465-2968 
 SuAnn Detampeldetampes@uwgb.edu920-465-2302
UW La CrosseSandy Chapmanschapman@uwlax.edu608-785-8599
 Jason Steinerjsteiner@uwlax.edu608-785-8550
UW MadisonUW Madison SFS Teamsfsmsn@bussvc.wisc.edu 
 Liv Gofflgoff@bussvc.wisc.edu608-890-3120
 Susie Maloneysmaloney@bussvc.wisc.edu608-890-3220
 John Jamesonjjameson@bussvc.wisc.edu608-890-0253
 Lea Ericksonlerickson@bussvc.wisc.edu608-890-1765
 Ben Biltzbpbiltz@rsp.wisc.edu608-890-3036
 Reba Amesrebecca.ames@wisc.edu608-890-2906
 Stefanie Meruccistefanie.merucci@wisc.edu608-265-1123
UW MilwaukeeDave Ricericed@uwm.edu414-229-6652
 Jim Skorlinski (PO)jes@bfs.uwm.edu414-229-4304
 Bonnie Gonnering (AP)bag2@uwm.edu414-229-4346 
 Kristin Feketefekete@uwm.edu414-229-6604
 Tom Osmanskiosmansk3@uwm.edu414-229-5240
UW OshkoshDebbie Matullematulle@uwosh.edu920-424-3318
 Dawn Abrahamabrahamd@uwosh.edu920-424-1308
UW ParksideBeth Frederickfrederib@uwp.edu262-595-2608
 Jennifer AgerholmAgerholm@uwp.edu262-595-2871
UW PlattevilleCathy Riedl-Farreyriedlfac@uwplatt.edu608-342-1435
UW River FallsJoel Heuschelejoel.heuschele@uwrf.edu715-425-3265
 Dave Sorensondavid.g.sorenson@uwrf.edu715-425-3905
 Gail Andersongail.anderson@uwrf.edu715-425-3232
UW Stevens PointTerri Changtchang@uwsp.edu715-346-4692
 Katie Schrothkschroth@uwsp.edu715-346-3930
 Robyn Boltonrlbolto@uwsp.edu715-346-4691
 UW StoutKim Schulte-Shobergschulte-shobergk@uwstout.edu715-232-1285
UW SuperiorRob Waksdahlrwaksdah@uwsuper.edu715-394-8017
UW System AdministrationGinger Hintzghintz@uwsa.edu608-262-6010
UW WhitewaterTrisha Barberbarbert@uww.edu262-472-2877
 Dawn Marshmarshd@uww.edu262-472-5674

Change Control

Change Control

The University of Wisconsin has formal processes used to ensure that changes to the SFS application are introduced in a controlled and coordinated manner. It is the goal to implement changes with minimal disruption to service and with cost-effective utilization of resources, while providing the most beneficial product for all system users and stakeholders.

Below are documents used by UWSA support staff in initiating changes to SFS.

 

Change Request Form

SFS Security Change Request Form

SFS Availability

General Support Maintenance

Support hours for SFS and WISDM are between 7:45am to 4:30pm, Monday through Friday. During these times, questions can be directed to UWSA Problem Solvers.

 

Off-Hours SFS Availability and Processing Impact

Both SFS and WISDM are generally available for use outside the supported hours, but users should be aware that many processing activities take place overnight and response times may vary significantly. Additionally, depending on the time entered, transactions entered overnight may not be processed in that evening’s batch or available in WISDM the follow day. The timing associated with entering and processing information has significant impacts on the visibility of data in SFS and WISDM.

 

Weekly SFS Maintenance Window

Please note that Sunday mornings between 5am until noon, Central Time, are reserved for technical system maintenance. If you are unable to access the system during this time, please try again later in the day.

 

Scheduled SFS Outages and Environment Refreshes

SFS Outage and Refresh Calendar 2016-2017
DoIT Outages Page  Real-time outage information for SFS and other systems.