UW System Records Officers Council

ABOUT THE COUNCIL

Records Officers are appointed by their institution leaders pursuant to Wis. Stat. sec. 15.04(1)(j). Their chief duty is to assure compliance with records retention and disposition laws. The records officers from each UW System institution form the University of Wisconsin Records Officer Council. The tasks of the Council include:

  1. Producing general schedules for the University of Wisconsin System,
  2. Providing records management resources, including this website, for the University of Wisconsin System; and
  3. Working together with the State of Wisconsin Public Records Board to advocate on behalf of the University of Wisconsin System.

Records and Forms Officers are not responsible for responding to public records requests (a/k/a freedom of information requests). Persons wishing to make a public records request should contact the institution’s public records custodian.

stack of papers

UW System Administration

Katie Patten

Public Records Coordinator

uwsarecords@uwsa.edu

608-262-6448

UW-Madison

Sarah Grimm

Academic Archivist 

sarah.grimm@wisc.edu

608-262-3284

UW-Platteville

James Hibbard

Archivist

hibbardj@uwplatt.edu

608-342-1719

UW-Superior

Laura Jacobs

Archivist

ljacobs@uwsuper.edu

715-394-8359

 

UW-Eau Claire

Gregory J. Kocken

Head of Special Collections & Archives

kockeng@uwec.edu

715-836-3873

UW-Milwaukee

Derek Webb

Head of Archives

webbds@uwm.edu

414-229-5402

UW-River Falls

Morgan Paavola

Archivist & Records Manager

morgan.paavola@uwrf.edu

715-425-4968

UW-Whitewater

Jennifer Motszko

Digital Scholar & Archivist

motszkoj@uww.edu

262-472-5515

UW-Green Bay

Christopher Paquet

Associate Vice Chancellor, Policy & Compliance

paquetc@uwgb.edu 

920-465-2110

UW-Oshkosh

Joshua Ranger

University Archivist 

ranger@uwosh.edu

University Archivist 

920-424-0828

UW-Stevens Point

Brad Casselberry

Records Manager & Assistant Archivist

bcasselb@uwsp.edu

715-346-3234

UW-La Crosse

Robin Tuxen

Assistant to Vice Chancellor, Administration & Finance

publicrecords@uwlax.edu

608-785-6494

UW-Parkside

Rebecca Robbenolt

Records Manager & Archivist

robbenno@uwp.edu

262-595-2411

UW-Stout

Rebecca Kuske

Assistant Archivist & Records Officer

kusker@uwstout.edu 

715-232-2300

Institution Records Management

The University of Wisconsin System believes that efficient records management  is vital to the administrative control and operational success of its component campuses. The UW System is committed to the idea that each campus should operate an effective records management program to ensure efficiency and economy in their creation, use, handling, control, maintenance, and disposition of records. The UW System also believes strongly that its component campuses must cooperate to ensure a top-notch records management program across the entire UW System, through standardizing records management practices as much as possible and through an increased reliance on System-wide general records schedules. For information on an institution’s records management program, visit their website.