Overview

OUR MISSION

The Office of General Counsel (OGC) is committed to maintaining the highest levels of quality, professionalism and integrity in the delivery of legal services, and strives to assure timely, effective advising and guidance.

WHO WE SERVE

The OGC provides legal advice and representation to the Board of Regents of the UW System, UW System Administration, UW System institutions, and UW System administrators and staff, and serves as liaison to state government offices and agencies, including the Wisconsin Department of Justice.

WHAT WE DO

The OGC provides comprehensive legal services to the UW System comprehensive campuses and to UW Colleges and UW-Extension, including advice on a wide variety of legal matters such as personnel issues, student affairs, public records and open meetings, real estate, risk management, and immigration, among others. OGC also reviews and drafts policies; reviews, drafts, and negotiates contracts; represents UW institutions in administrative hearings; and acts as a liaison with the Wisconsin Department of Justice in litigation filed in court. An emphasis on proactive and preventive law is foremost, and OGC attorneys provide training on legal issues to administrators and staff throughout the UW System.

DISCLAIMER

The information presented on this website is for informational purposes only and nothing on this website should be construed or relied upon as legal advice. The OGC or the UW-Madison or UW-Milwaukee legal offices should be consulted regarding the specific facts and circumstances associated with any legal matter.

Leadership

Photo Tomas L. Stafford

Tomas L. Stafford

General Counsel

Contact

1856 Van Hise Hall
1220 Linden Dr.
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: (608) 263-6105
tstafford@uwsa.edu

Staff

Photo Anne  Bilder

Anne Bilder

Senior System Legal Counsel
1850 Van Hise Hall
1220 Linden Dr
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: (608) 265-3094
abilder@uwsa.edu

Photo Alicia  Boll

Alicia Boll

Program Assistant Advanced-Confidential
1852 Van Hise Hall
1220 Linden Dr
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: (608) 262-8646
aboll@uwsa.edu

Photo Wade  Harrison

Wade Harrison

System Legal Counsel
1808 Van Hise Hall
1220 Linden Dr
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608-262-3662
wharrison@uwsa.edu

Photo Erin  Kastberg

Erin Kastberg

System Legal Counsel
1844 Van Hise Hall
1220 Linden Dr
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: (608) 262-6497
ekastberg@uwsa.edu

Photo Jennifer  Lattis

Jennifer Lattis

Senior System Legal Counsel
1802 Van Hise Hall
1220 Linden Dr.
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: (608) 262-0747
jlattis@uwsa.edu

Photo Matthew  Lind

Matthew Lind

System Legal Counsel
1842 Van Hise Hall
1220 Linden Dr
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: (608) 890-3281
mlind@uwsa.edu

Photo Andrew  Preboski

Andrew Preboski

Program Assistant - Confidential
1846 Van Hise Hall
1220 Linden Dr
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: (608) 265-2960
apreboski@uwsa.edu

Photo Paige  Reed

Paige Reed

Senior System Legal Counsel
1848 Van Hise Hall
1220 Linden Dr
Madison, WI 53706
Telephone: 608-265-5319
preed@uwsa.edu

Explore More