Jennifer Kosiak

Chair, Math Steering Committee

608-785-8385
jkosiak@uwlax.edu

Jennifer Kosiak is a Professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

She teaches a variety of courses including general education mathematics courses and courses designed for future elementary, middle, and high school teachers. She is a past President of the Wisconsin Mathematics Council (2015-2018) and is actively involved is supporting the professional learning needs of mathematics teachers across the state of Wisconsin. Her research interests also include College Ready in Mathematics and problem-solving in the early elementary grades. She has led the FastTrack Program—a summer bridge program for incoming students placed into developmental mathematics—for more than seven years at UW-La Crosse and other UW System campuses.

 

Carrie Tirel

Vice Chair, Math Steering Committee

920-832-2638

tirelc@uwosh.edu

Carrie Tirel is an Associate Professor of Mathematics at the Fox Cities branch campus of the University of Wisconsin Oshkosh.

Carrie began her college career at UW-Manitowoc as a first-generation college student with no major in mind, and ultimately earned her Ph.D. in mathematics from UW-Milwaukee. In addition to teaching a variety of freshman- and sophomore-level classes, she is committed to universal access to higher education and serves in various roles centered around promoting student success on her campus and throughout the state. These roles have included providing support to the tutoring services on the UW Oshkosh Fox Cities campus and co-running a mentoring program for female students in STEM fields. Carrie currently serves as Associate Chair for Access Campuses and on the Faculty Senate of UW Oshkosh.

 

Math Initiative Leadership Team

Executive Sponsor

Anny Morrobel-Sosa
University of Wisconsin System
VP of Academic & Student Affairs
608-262-3826
amorrobel@uwsa.edu

Project Team

Name Affiliation Phone Email
Alice Pulvermacher Principal Investigator, Research Project Director, UWSA 608-262-5499 apulvermacher@uwsa.edu
Jennifer Kosiak Math Steering Committee Chair; Professor, Mathematics and Statistics, UW-La Crosse 608-785-8385 jkosiak@uwlax.edu
Carrie Tirel Math Steering Committee Vice Chair; Associate Professor, Mathematics, UW-Fox Valley 920-832-2638 tirelc@uwosh.edu
Sandy Kallio Project Communications Coordinator, UWSA 608-890-4369 sskallio@uwsa.edu
David Blough Project Team Data Analyst, UWSA 608-265-9796 dblough@uwsa.edu

Math Steering Committee

Institution Representative Email Phone Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Alex Smith smithaj@uwec.edu 715-836-3673 Chair, Mathematics Department
UW-Green Bay Synde Kraus krauss@uwgb.edu 920-459-5943 Senior Lecturer, Mathematics and Statistics Department, Sheboygan Campus
Tetyana Malysheva malyshet@uwgb.edu 920-465-5024 Associate Professor, Mathematics and Statistics Department
UW-La Crosse Jennifer Kosiak jkosiak@uwlax.edu 608-785-8385 Professor, Mathematics Education
UW-Madison Clare Huhn clare.huhn@wisc.edu 608-265-9276 Senior Policy and Planning Analyst, Academic Planning and Institutional Research
Benedek Valko valko@math.wisc.edu 608-263-2782 Professor, Mathematics; Chair, Undergraduate Program
UW-Milwaukee Kevin McLeod kevinm@uwm.edu 414-229-5269 Associate Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
UW-Oshkosh Ken Price pricek@uwosh.edu 920-424-4233 Professor, Mathematics Department
UW-Parkside Qinghua Luo luo@uwp.edu Assistant Professor, Math and Physics Department
UW-Platteville Jason Thrun thrunj@uwplatt.edu 608-342-1944 Professor and Assistant Chair, Math Department
UW-River Falls Bob Coffman robert.l.coffman@uwrf.edu 715-425-4101 Professor, Mathematics Department
UW-Stevens Point Kevin Schoenecker kevin.schoenecker@uwsp.edu 715-346-2762 Assistant Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
Kavita Bhatia kbhatia@uwsp.edu 715-389-6548 Professor, Mathematics Department
UW-Stout Eugen (Andrei) Ghenciu ghenciue@uwstout.edu 715-232-1376 Associate Professor, Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science Department
UW-Superior Sergei Bezroukov SBezruko@uwsuper.edu 715-394-8523 Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science Department
UW-Whitewater Geetha Samaranayake samarang@uww.edu 262- 472-5162 Professor, Mathematics

 

Institutional Change Team

Leaders

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Alex Smith smithaj@uwec.edu Chair, Mathematics Department
UW-Green Bay Clif Ganyard ganyardc@uwgb.edu Associate Provost
UW-La Crosse Robert Allen rallen@uwlax.edu Chair, Mathematics and Statistics
UW-Madison Jocelyn Milner jocelyn.milner@wisc.edu Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
UW-Milwaukee Phyllis King pking@uwm.edu Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
UW-Oshkosh Ken Price pricek@uwosh.edu Associate Director, University Studies Program, and Professor, Mathematics
UW-Parkside Gary Wood gary.wood@uwp.edu Vice Provost
UW-Platteville Melissa Gormley gormleym@uwplatt.edu Interim Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Professor of History
UW-River Falls Kathy Tomlinson kathy.tomlinson@uwrf.edu Professor, Mathematics
Laurel Langford laurel.langford@uwrf.edu Chair, Mathematics
UW-Stevens Point Cindy McCabe cmccabe@uwsp.edu Chair, Department of Mathematical Sciences
Nancy LoPatin-Lummis nlopatin@uwsp.edu Professor, History and International Studies
UW-Stout Petre (Nelu) Ghenciu  ghenciup@uwstout.edu Chair and Professor, Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science
UW-Superior Nick Danz ndanz@uwsuper.edu Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
UW-Whitewater Elizabeth Hachten hachtene@uww.edu Assistant Dean and Coordinator of General Education, College of L&S

 

Education Subcommittee

Chair

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-La Crosse Jenni McCool jmccool@uwlax.edu Professor, Mathematics and Statistics

Members

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Jennifer Harrison harrisol@uwec.edu Associate Professor, Mathematics
Ryan Harrison harrisrm@uwec.edu Associate Professor Mathematics
UW-Green Bay Mary Gichobi gichobim@uwgb.edu Associate Professor, Education
UW-La Crosse Jenni McCool jmccool@uwlax.edu Professor, Mathematics and Statistics
UW-Madison Oh Hoon Kwon kwon@math.wisc.edu Associate Faculty Associate, Mathematics
UW-Milwaukee Xianwei Van Harpen vanharpe@uwm.edu Senior Lecturer, Mathematical Sciences
Kevin McLeod kevinm@uwm.edu Associate Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
UW-Oshkosh Jennifer Szydlik szydlik@uwosh.edu Professor, College of Education and Human Services
Stephanie Bernander bernands@uwosh.edu Assistant Professor, Teaching and Learning
UW-Parkside Maria Franshaw franshaw@uwp.edu Assistant Professor, Institute of Professional Educator Development Department
UW-Platteville Erin Edgington edgingte@uwplatt.edu Assistant Professor, edTPA Coordinator
UW-River Falls Christy Pettis christy.pettis@uwrf.edu Teacher Education Faculty, College of Education and Professional Studies
UW-Stevens Point Sirin Budak sbudak@uwsp.edu Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences
UW-Stout Kevin Mason masonk@uwstout.edu Faculty, Education
UW-Superior Kristin Riesgraf kriesgra@uwsuper.edu Senior Lecturer, Mathematics
UW-Whitewater Rachel Chaphalkar chaphalr@uww.edu Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Data Analysts

Institution Representative Email  Phone Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Nicole Kraft kraftnl@uwec.edu 715-836-3345 Research Analyst, Institutional Research (IR)
UW-Green Bay Samantha Surowiec surowies@uwgb.edu 920-424-2195 Data Reporting Specialist
UW-La Crosse Natalie Solverson nsolverson@uwlax.edu 608-785-8006 Director, IR
UW-Madison Clare Huhn clare.huhn@wisc.edu 608-265-9276 Senior Policy and Planning Analyst, Academic Planning and IR
UW-Milwaukee Suyu Lin suyulin@uwm.edu 414-251-5355 Policy and Planning Analyst, Office of Assessment and IR
UW-Oshkosh Michael Watson watson@uwosh.edu 920-424-2184 Director, Office of IR
UW-Parkside John Standard standard@uwp.edu 262-595-2930 Associate Policy and Planning Analyst
UW-Platteville Michael Black blackmi@uwplatt.edu 608-342-1939 Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Matt Michaels michaelsm@uwplatt.edu 608-342-1334 Analyst, IR
UW-River Falls Tracy King tracy.king@uwrf.edu 715-425-4581  Provost and Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs Office
UW-Stevens Point Marv Noltze mnoltze@uwsp.edu 715-346-2762 Institutional Planner
UW-Stout Meridith Wentz wentzm@uwstout.edu 715-232-5312 Assistant Chancellor
UW-Superior Emily Neumann eneuman2@uwsuper.edu 715-394-8396 Director of Institutional Effectiveness
UW-Whitewater Rochelle Day DayRE25@uww.edu Business Intelligence Analyst

 

Advising Representatives

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire John Reichert reichejr@uwec.edu Associate Director of Advising, Retention and Career Center
Erik Rotvold rotvolep@uwec.edu Academic Advisor, Business
UW-Green Bay Nora Kanzenbach kanzenbn@uwgb.edu Senior Advisor
Andrew Meyer meyera@uwgb.edu Transfer Services Coordinator
Pam Gilson gilsonp@uwgb.edu Testing Services Coordinator
UW-La Crosse Jo  Arney jarney@uwlax.edu Director of Student Success
UW-Milwaukee Jennifer Deroche jderoche@uwm.edu Senior Administrative Program Specialist; Freshman Academic Advisor
Kay Eilers kceilers@uwm.edu Director of Student Success
UW-Oshkosh Lisa Szromba szrombal@uwosh.edu Advisor
Jane Garrow garrowj@uwosh.edu Solution Center Advisor
UW-Parkside Neil Baumgartner baumgarn@uwp.edu Director of Academic and Career Advising
Anna Super stremlau@uwp.edu Academic Advisor
Bryan Lewis lewisb@uwp.edu Associate Dean, College of Natural and Health Sciences
Sergio Correa correa@uwp.edu Academic Advisor
Katie Nack knack@uwm.edu Nursing Consortium Advisor
UW-Platteville Elizabeth Runde rundeel@uwplatt.edu Academic Advisor
Jennifer Walsh walshjen@uwplatt.edu Director, Student Services, UW-Platteville Baraboo Sauk County
Stephanie Joyce joyces@uwplatt.edu Academic Advisor
UW-River Falls David Toles david.toles@uwrf.edu Transfer Advisor
UW-Stevens Point Jenna Fritsch jfritsch@uwsp.edu Academic and Career Advisor
Jessi Wendlandt jwendlan@uwsp.edu Academic and Career Advisor
UW-Stout Janine Thull thullj@uwstout.edu Director, Advisement Center
Linda Young youngl@uwstout.edu Associate Director of Admissions-Transfer
UW-Superior Janie Campbell jcampb41@uwsuper.edu Interim Registrar and Transfer Specialist
Kristen Jasperson kjaspers@uwsuper.edu Assistant Director, Academic Advising
UW-Whitewater Julie Janiak janiakj@uww.edu Academic Advisor, UW-Rock County

 

Branch Campus Representatives

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Wufeng Tian tianw@uwec.edu Assistant Professor, Mathematics, Barron County campus
UW-Green Bay Synde Kraus krauss@uwgb.edu Senior Lecturer, Mathematics, Sheboygan campus
UW-Milwaukee Shubhangi Stalder stalder@uwm.edu Professor, Mathematics, Waukesha campus
UW-Oshkosh Kathy Hopper hopperk@uwosh.edu Associate Lecturer and Developmental Math Instructional Program Manager, Fox Valley campus
Jane Garrow garrowj@uwosh.edu Solution Center Advisor, Fox Valley campus
UW-Platteville Kirthi Premadasa premadasaa@uwplatt.edu Associate Professor, Mathematics, Baraboo/Sauk County campus
Stephanie Kernik kerniks@uwplatt.edu Lecturer, Mathematics, Richland campus
UW-Stevens Point Kavita Bhatia kbhatia@uwsp.edu Professor, Mathematics, Marshfield campus
UW-Whitewater Mark Fuller fullerm@uww.edu Professor, Mathematics, Rock County campus
Julie Janiak janiakj@uww.edu TRIO Student Support Services Director, Rock County campus

 

Year 2 Faculty

Business

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Tim Vaughan vaughats@uwec.edu Professor, Management and Marketing
UW-Green Bay Gaurav Bansal bansalg@uwgb.edu Associate Professor, Business
UW-La Crosse Mary Hamman mhamman@uwlax.edu Associate Professor, Economics
Maggie McDermott mmcdermott@uwlax.edu Associate Professor, Marketing
UW-Milwaukee Layth Alwan alwan@uwm.edu Associate Professor, Business
UW-Oshkosh David Fuller fullerd@uwosh.edu Associate Professor, College of Business
UW-Parkside Sahar Bahmani bahmani@uwp.edu Associate Professor, Economics
UW-Platteville Les Hollingsworth hollingsworl@uwplatt.edu Associate Professor, Business
UW-River Falls Laura Boche laura.boche@uwrf.edu Director of Undergraduate Student Programs, College of Business and Economics
Ruxin Dai ruxin.dai@uwrf.edu Assistant Professor, Computer Science and Information Systems
UW-Stevens Point C.R. Marshall crmarshal@uwsp.edu Professor, School of Business and Economics
UW-Stout Kenny Mullins mullinsk@uwstout.edu Faculty, Business
UW-Superior Praopan Pratoomchat ppratoom@uwsuper.edu Assistant Professor, Economics
UW-Whitewater Matthew Winden windenm@uww.edu Associate Professor, Economics, College of Business and Economics
Garrett Smith smithgc@uww.edu Assistant Professor, Finance and Business Law Department

Education

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Jennifer Harrison harrisol@uwec.edu Associate Professor, Mathematics
Ryan Harrison harrisrm@uwec.edu Associate Professor Mathematics
UW-Green Bay Mary Gichobi gichobim@uwgb.edu Associate Professor, Education
UW-La Crosse Jenni McCool jmccool@uwlax.edu Associate Professor, Mathematics Education
UW-Madison Oh Hoon Kwon kwon@math.wisc.edu Associate Faculty Associate, Mathematics
UW-Milwaukee Xianwei Van Harpen vanharpe@uwm.edu Senior Lecturer, Mathematical Sciences
Kevin McLeod kevinm@uwm.edu Associate Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
UW-Oshkosh Jennifer Szydlik szydlik@uwosh.edu Professor, College of Education and Human Services
Stephanie Bernander bernands@uwosh.edu Assistant Professor, Teaching and Learning
UW-Parkside Dana Ryan ryand@uwp.edu Director, Advanced Professional Development
UW-Platteville Erin Edgington edgingte@uwplatt.edu Assistant Professor, edTPA Coordinator
Jason Thrun thrunj@uwplatt.edu Professor and Assistant Chair, Math Department
UW-River Falls Christy Pettis christy.pettis@uwrf.edu Teacher Education Faculty, College of Education and Professional Studies
Keith Nabb keith.nabb@uwrf.edu Assistant Professor, Mathematics
UW-Stevens Point Sirin Budak sbudak@uwsp.edu Assistant Professor, Mathematical Sciences
UW-Stout Kevin Mason masonk@uwstout.edu Faculty, Education
UW-Superior Kristin Riesgraf kriesgra@uwsuper.edu Senior Lecturer, Mathematics
UW-Whitewater Rachel Chaphalkar chaphalr@uww.edu Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Nursing

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Debra Jansen jansenda@uwec.edu Associate Dean, College of Nursing
Shannon Collins collinss@uwec.edu Clinical Associate Professor, Communications and Sciences Disorders
UW-Green Bay Myunghee Jun junm@uwgb.edu Assistant Professor, Nursing
UW-Milwaukee Robin Jens rjens@uwm.edu Assistant Dean, Nursing
UW-Oshksoh Jennifer Basler basler@uwosh.edu Assistant Professor, College of Nursing
UW-Parkside Katie Nack knack@uwm.edu Nursing Advisor
UW-Platteville Sharon Klavins klavinss@uwplatt.edu Professor, Biology
UW-Stevens Point Rebecca Sommer rsommer@uwsp.edu Associate Professor, School of Health Care Professionals
UW-Stout Ann Parsons parsonsa@uwstout.edu Faculty, Pre-Nursing/Biology
UW-Whitewater Anthony Millevolte millevoa@uww.edu Faculty, Pre-Nursing/Rock County Branch Campus

 

Year 1 Faculty

Arts & Humanities

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Manuel Fernandez fernanm@uwec.edu Associate Professor, Academic Program Director, Language
UW-Green Bay Jenny Young youngj@uwgb.edu Assistant Professor, Director of English Composition
UW-La Crosse Marie Moeller mmoeller@uwlax.edu Assistant Dean, College of Liberal Studies
UW-Madison Russ Shafer-Landau shaferlandau@wisc.edu Professor, Philosophy; Member, General Education Committee
UW-Milwaukee Dave Clark dclark@uwm.edu Associate Professor, English; Interim Dean, College of Letters & Science
UW-Oshkosh Ron Rindo rindo@uwosh.edu Faculty, English
UW-Parkside Trenton Baylor baylor@uwp.edu Associate Professor, Art
UW-Platteville Shane Drefcinski drefcins@uwplatt.edu Associate Professor, Philosophy
UW-River Falls Dan Paulus dan.paulus@uwrf.edu Assistant Professor and Chair, Art
UW-Stevens Point Tobias Barske tobias.barske@uwsp.edu Professor, World Languages and Literature
UW-Stout Emi Stuemke stuemkee@uwstout.edu Faculty, English and Philosophy
UW-Superior Hector Landa hlanda@uwsuper.edu Assistant Professor, Music
UW-Whitewater Jeff Herriott herriotj@uww.edu Professor, Music

Social & Behavioral Sciences

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Doug Matthews matthedb@uwec.edu Professor and Chair, Psychology
UW-Green Bay Kate Burns burnsk@uwgb.edu Associate Professor, Human Development, Psychology
UW-La Crosse Jocelyn Newton jnewton@uwlax.edu Associate Professor, Psychology
UW-Madison James Wollack jwollack@wisc.edu Director, UW-Madison Testing and Evaluation Services and
UW System Center for Placement Testing
UW-Milwaukee Aki Roberts aki@uwm.edu Associate Professor, Sociology
UW-Oshkosh Juyeon Son sonj@uwosh.edu Associate Professor, Sociology
UW-Parkside Mita Banerjee Banerjee@uwp.edu Assistant Professor, Sociology
UW-Platteville Dennis Carpenter dennis.carpenter@wisc.edu Associate Professor, Psychology
UW-River Falls Desiree Wiesen-Martin desiree.wiesenmartin@uwrf.edu Assistant Professor, Sociology, Criminology and Anthropology
UW-Stevens Point Mark Ferguson mark.ferguson@uwsp.edu Associate Professor, Psychology
UW-Stout Andy Swanson swansonandr@uwstout.edu Faculty, Social Science Department
UW-Superior Eleni Pinnow eppinow@uwsuper.edu Associate Professor, Psychology
UW-Whitewater Meg Waraczynski waracyzm@uww.edu Professor, Psychology
Matthew Winden windenm@uww.edu Assistant Professor, Economics

STEM

Institution Representative Email Affiliation
UW-Eau Claire Warren Gallagher wgallagh@uwec.edu Professor and Chair, Chemistry
UW-Green Bay Woo Jeon jeonw@uwgb.edu Associate Professor and Chair, Mathematics
UW-La Crosse Megan Litster mlitster@uwlax.edu Assistant Professor, Biology
Janet Kirsch jkirsch@uwlax.edu Associate Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
UW-Madison David Anderson Anderson@math.wisc.edu Professor, Mathematics
UW-Milwaukee David McClanahan davidm@uwm.edu Faculty Associate, Electrical Engineering
UW-Oshkosh Lisa Dorn dorn@uwosh.edu Associate Professor, Biology
Caroline Geary caroline.geary@uwc.edu Professor, Chemistry
UW-Parkside Cathy Mossman mossman@uwp.edu Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
UW-Platteville Anne-Marie Lerner lerner@uwplatt.edu Associate Professor, Mechanical Engineering
UW-River Falls Rellen Hardtke rellen.hardtke@uwrf.edu Professor, Physics
Youngmi Kim youngmi.kim@uwrf.edu Assistant Professor, Agricultural Engineering Technology
UW-Stevens Point Erin Speetzen erin.speetzen@uwsp.edu Associate Professor, Chemistry
Tim Ginnett tim.ginnett@uwsp.edu Associate Dean, College of Natural Resources
UW-Stout Kenny Mullins mullinsk@uwstout.edu Faculty, Business
UW-Superior Peter Cook pcook2@uwsuper.edu Associate Professor, Physics
UW-Whitewater Catherine Chan chanc@uww.edu Associate Professor, Biology/Chemistry

 

Year 1 Advisory Members

Name Affiliation Email
Fay Akindes Director, Systemwide Professional & Instructional Development fakindes@uwsa.edu
Barbara Bales Director, Strategic Initiatives & Educational Innovation bbales@uwsa.edu
Angie Kellogg Senior Academic Planner, Office of Student Success  akellogg@uwsa.edu
Jackie Morgan Credit Transfer Technology Manager jmorgan@uwsa.edu
Carleen Vande Zande Associate VP of Academic Programs & Educational Innovation cvandezande@uwsa.edu