The Higher Learning Commission  (HLC) is the regional accreditor for all the universities in the UW System. Each university is assigned a liaison with the HLC and also appoints an Accreditation Liaison Officer for university-wide compliance.

HLC is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional university accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational universities in the 19 state North Central region, which includes the 13 universities in the University of Wisconsin System.

HLC’s mission: Serving the common good by assuring and advancing the quality of higher learning.