The UW Colleges TRIO Student Support Program will move from UW Colleges to be housed at UW-Whitewater.


The TRIO Student Support Services Program is a federally funded program, currently based at UW-Marathon County, UW-Rock County, and UW-Waukesha. Pending HLC approval, UW Colleges will transfer the Principal Investigator along with the Federal Department of Education TRIO grant from the UW-Rock County branch campus to UW-Whitewater. The Principal Investigator will continue to be responsible for administration of TRIO grant activities on all three of the branch campuses:

  • UW-Rock County (UW-Whitewater)
  • UW-Marathon County (UW-Stevens Point)
  • UW-Waukesha (UW-Milwaukee)

UW Colleges will assist UW-Whitewater with reporting on TRIO grant activities at the three branch campuses in Phase 1 2018-2019. UW Colleges further recommends that $90,800 of central Fund 402 GPR be allocated to UW-Whitewater to support the TRIO grant for FY19 through FY23. These GPR funds shall be used to directly support the TRIO grant as a portion of the institutional commitment of non-federal match required by the grant award.

Next Steps

UW-Whitewater’s academic and student affairs staff will continue to work collaboratively with UW Colleges on the preparation of the transfer.