Task force members are the authors of the content on this site. We plan to provide periodic updates on the status of this work group. Our meetings are scheduled at varying intervals, so it is likely that updates to this site will be similarly irregular. We invite you to contact any of the task force members with your questions or comments.


In the summer of 2010, the Learn@UW Executive Committee formed this task force to report on the current state of the learning management system.

Charge to the Task Force

•Study the status of the current LMS (D2L) at UW campuses from the faculty, students, and programs perspectives. Gather the unmet needs and requirements on D2L as an effective e-learning environment

•Scan the current LMS environment, the upcoming e-learning trends, and ascertain how D2L positions itself compared to others

•Determine areas that should be addressed by the LMS or via other strategies to meet the need of online learning in the next five years or beyond

•Make recommendations to the Learn@UW EC and the UW System CIO on the next steps in the LMS direction.

Deliverables and Timeline

The Task Force will deliver a written report on the findings and recommendations to the Learn@UW Executive Committee and the UW System CIO by July 1, 2011.


Task force members are faculty and staff from across UW System and were nominated by the Learn@UW Executive Committee.

Lorna Wong (Chair) – Director, Learning Technology Development, UW System Administration

Barbara Barnet – Professor, Statistics, UW-Platteville

Jeff Bohrer – Sr. Learning Technology Consultant, DoIT Academic Technology, UW-Madison

Rovy Branon – Executive Director, eCampus, UW-Extension

Jane Henderson – Director, Learning Technology Services, UW-Stout

Peter Mann – Service Manager, Learn@UW

Sharon McCarragher – eLearning Consultant, Learning Technology Center, UW-Milwaukee

Andy Speth – Manger, Learning Technology Center, UW-Green Bay

Dan Voeks – Application Manager, Learn@UW

Jim Winship – Professor/Chair, Social Work, UW-Whitewater

Executive Sponsors:

Ed Meachen, Associate Vice President, CIO, UW System Administration

Al Hartman, Professor, Business, UW-Oshkosh; Chair, Learn@UW Executive Committee