UW System Student Representatives

Resolution in Recognition and Support of Seize the Grid initiative

Whereas, the Wisconsin Department of Administration (DOA) sets energy purchasing policy for state institutions, including the University of Wisconsin System (UWS);

Whereas, current DOA purchasing policy, with respect to UWS, combines the energy expenditures from all UWS schools;

Whereas, this policy provides a disincentive for individual UWS schools to conserve energy:

Whereas, the UWS Seize the Grid campaign seeks to alter this policy in order to allow UWS schools to transition to 100% renewable energy sourcing by 2030;

Whereas, the UWS Seize the Grid campaign also seeks to make each UW campus as energy efficient as possible, and to build a movement among the campus community, and the broader community;

Whereas, the goal of the UWS Seize the Grid campaign fits within the United States' commitment to lower greenhouse gas emissions;

Whereas, there has been student interest in the Seize the Grid mission and campaign at the following University of Wisconsin Schools: Stout, Eau Claire, Stevens Point, River Falls, Whitewater, Oshkosh, LaCrosse, Madison;

Whereas, the University Student Senate (U.S.S.) of the Stout Student Association (S.S.A.) has voted to recognize the efforts of the Seize the Grid campaign – both at UW-Stout and at the UWS level – and to support its goal.

Whereas, the U.S.S. of the S.S.A. has encouraged the DOA to revise its policy regarding UWS energy purchasing in such a way as to allow individual schools to benefit from energy savings.

Be it therefore resolved, the UW System Student Representatives recognize the efforts of the UW System Seize the Grid campaign, and support its goal.

Be it therefore resolved, the UW System Student Representatives encourage the DOA to revise its policy regarding UW System energy purchasing in such a way as to allow individual schools to benefit from energy savings.

Be it therefore further resolved, this motion be distributed to Governor Scott Walker, President of the UWS Ray Cross, Associate Vice President for Capital Planning and Budget Alex Roe, UWS Board of Regents, University of Wisconsin-Stout Chancellor Meyer, University of Wisconsin-Madison Chancellor Blank, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Chancellor Schmidt, University of Wisconsin-La Crosse Chancellor Gow, University of Wisconsin-River Falls Chancellor Van Galen, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point Chancellor Patterson, University of Wisconsin-Superior Chancellor Wachter, University of Wisconsin-Parkside

Chancellor Ford, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Chancellor Mone, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Chancellor Miller, University of Wisconsin-Platteville Chancellor Shields, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Chancellor Kopper, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Chancellor Leavitt, and University of Wisconsin Colleges and University of Wisconsin-Extension Chancellor Sandeen.

Approved by a vote of 11-6-0 at the meeting of UW System Student Representatives held at UW-Parkside, 2/4/2017.