The Fringe Benefit Advisory Committee (FBAC) was established to provide an advisory resource of knowledgeable faculty, academic and university staff to assist in the analysis of existing fringe benefits, to propose possible changes in the fringe benefit package, and to secure those changes which can be accomplished through administrative action of the appropriate regulatory boards. It is intended to be a resource for the biennial budget working group on compensation, the President, the Chancellors, Faculty Representatives and Academic Staff Representatives. The Committee will have the following specific functions:

  1. To study existing fringe benefit programs and their impact on faculty, academic, and university staff and on institutional programs and secure their implementation;
  2. To help define the alternatives for fringe benefit improvements that should be considered by biennial budget working groups, the Secretary of the Office of Employment Relations, and the President in the formulation of recommendations for biennial compensation plans;
  3. To improve the quality of information available to faculty, academic and university staff and to contribute to an understanding of their needs by soliciting the views of retirement counselors and by conducting or supporting surveys of employee opinion on fringe benefits;
  4. To assist in evaluating legislation or other policy and procedural changes initiated by state agencies or policy makers, and to make recommendations on behalf of the System both in writing and through appearances before the Regents, regulatory boards and the legislative committee;
  5. To monitor various studies conducted by executive and legislative agencies, to take positions on behalf of the System, and to advise the President and working groups on their implications.


The Committee consists of nine people appointed by the President of the UW System from among institutional nominations of faculty, academic and university staff employees. The normal term of each appointment is three years, and the terms are staggered to provide continuity to the function of the committee.

Susan Fontana
Tracy Hofer
UW-Stevens Point715-346-3874 
Dr. Fredric Kolb
UW-Eau Claire715-836-3518Vice Chair
Mary Kay Sankey
Lisa Goetsch
Kelly Delaney-Klinger
Sharon Pink