Overview

It is the goal of the UW System to provide a safe and healthful higher education environment for students, faculty, staff, and other people utilizing UW programs and facilities.

The Office of Risk Management strives to meet this goal with:

  • proactive loss prevention, health, safety, and environmental management;
  • quality property, liability and workers compensation claims management;
  • protection of UW assets.

No job or course of academic study is so important and no request so urgent that one cannot take time to perform that function safely and in compliance with overall environmental regulation.

Throughout the UW System, the respective functions of Workers Compensation, Environmental and Occupational Health & Safety and Risk Management should coordinate to provide comprehensive technical and responsive service.

Administration, faculty, and supervisors are responsible for demonstrating leadership in developing proper attitudes toward environmental health and safety, and providing necessary resources to conduct activities safely and ensure environmental compliance.

Employees and students are responsible for the continuous practice of safety while performing their duties. This requires cooperation with all aspects of environmental health, safety, and risk management policies and guidelines.

Leadership

Ruth Anderson

Associate Vice President

Contact

780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: (608) 263-4378
randerson@uwsa.edu

Staff

Dorothy Cotillier

Risk Management Specialist
780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: (608) 263-4377
dcotillier@uwsa.edu

Dawn Hass

Workers Compensation Examiner
780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: (608) 262-9004
dhass@uwsa.edu

Dawn Holt

Risk Management Specialist
780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: (608) 265-4658
dholt@uwsa.edu

Donna Iverson

Workers Compensation Examiner
780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: (608) 265-3575
diverson@uwsa.edu

Tom Joestgen

Risk and Workers Compensation Manager
780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: (608) 890-4792
tjoestgen@uwsa.edu

Alisa Kemnitz

Workers Compensation Examiner
780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: (608) 263-1174
akemnitz@uwsa.edu

Eileen Norby

Sustainability Coordinator
780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: (608) 262-8252
enorby@uwsa.edu

Ralph North

Environmental Specialist
780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: (608) 263-4419
rnorth@uwsa.edu

Dave Pulda

Director of Risk Management
780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: 608-263-4381
dpulda@uwsa.edu

Amy Spohn

Occupational Safety Manager
780 Regent St
Suite 105
Madison, WI 53715
Telephone: (608) 262-4792
aspohn@uwsa.edu