## **Community Leaders Support the University of Wisconsin System**

May 7, 2003

To: Members of the Joint Committee on Finance:

Senator Alberta Darling Senator Robert Welch Senator Mary Lazich Senator Ted Kanavas Senator Sheila Harsdorf Senator Scott Fitzgerald Senator Russell Decker Senator Gwendolynne Moore Representative Dean Kaufert Representative Michael Huebsch Representative David Ward Representative Dan Meyer Representative Jeff Stone Representative Kitty Rhoades Representative Spencer Coggs Representative Dan Schooff

Shortly you will be voting on a matter of great importance to us – the University of Wisconsin System budget for 2003-05. We are very much aware of the state's fiscal constraints but we also know that the university is critical to Wisconsin's economy.

Every state dollar spent on the UW leverages an additional two dollars that are equally important to Wisconsin's economic health. The overall annual impact of the university is 28,000 graduates to work in our state economy and \$10 billion dollars or 5% of Wisconsin's economic productivity. This represents "brain gain" jobs for Wisconsin that we can't afford to lose. We work closely with the universities in our communities and we know first-hand how important they are to our economic vitality. Please hold the line and go no deeper than the \$250 million in cuts proposed by Governor Doyle for 2003-05. This is far more than the university's "fair" share.

We also urge you to support the tuition increases, without which these cuts to the university will be truly dire. Even after these increases, UW tuition will remain low compared to neighboring universities – and we support the added financial aid to make these increases affordable to the state's poorest students.

As alumni, employers, public officials, and business leaders, we know that balancing budgets is not easy, but we also know what a tremendous value our university system is for the money spent. We strongly urge you to support the university in your upcoming vote. A stronger economy and brighter future for us all will be your reward.

Sincerely,

John Heugel Partner Liebmann, Conway, Olejniczak & Jerry, S.C. Green Bay

Suman 7

Susan Finco President Leonard & Finco Public Relations Green Bay

Bishack

Theodore Richards President Strand Associates, Inc. Madison

Jill Pelisek President UW – Milwaukee Foundation River Hills

amil fel It

Daniel Gelatt President NMT Corporation La Crosse

Karl M-Jimmermann

Karl Zimmermann President, Board of Visitors, UW Colleges Realtor/Builder, Franz & Zimmermann Homes Marshfield

mary Jurniaer

Mary Jurmain Chief Executive Officer and President Realityworks Eau Claire

ald R Keute

Todd Keute Publisher Daily Telegram Superior

Daviel T. Hachel Lolito M. Kachel

David Kachel Owner/Manager **DLK Enterprises** Whitewater

Lolita Kachel Owner/Manager **DLK Enterprises** Whitewater

- Dem Nickels

**Eileen Nickels** Councilperson, Platteville City Council Agent, Bell Real Estate & Auction

meghź /2UX

Joseph Laux Mayor City of Menasha

Dave Ross Mayor City of Superior

mit al

**Douglas Finn** Chairperson Douglas County Board of Supervisors Superior

Robert J. Gannon President Marinette School Board

Leon Berenschot

Leon Berenschot President WI Associated County Extension Committees Glenwood City

Hooshang Zeyghami President Central Wisconsin Engineers & Architects Weston

Linda Lawrence Mayor City of Wausau

James P. Un Ejek

James Van Eyck Administrator New Economy Workforce (NEW) Coalition Wausau

Leonard W. Weir

Leonard W. Weis, Ph. D. Emeritus Professor of Geology UW-Fox Valley Menasha

John a. Kaiser

Jack Kaiser Attorney Schrage & Kaiser Eau Claire

prom a Relan

George Nelson Executive Vice President Evening Telegram Company Madison

I hand talmer

Thomas J. Palmer President First National Bank of River Falls

John Neis CFA, Senior Partner Venture Investors Madison

Donald A. Viepgras

Donald Piepgras President St. Croix Valley Natural Gas Co. River Falls

Keith Summers Senior Resource Center Manager Foth & Van Dyke Associates, Inc. Green Bay

Toy F. Valitchka

Roy F. Valitchka Owner Protective Coating Specialists, Inc. Appleton

disa liteiner

Lisa N. Weiner Executive Director/President St. Elizabeth Hospital Community Foundation Appleton

Pop Talmele

Roger Van Vreede President Van Vreede TV & Appliance Appleton

Myce Bytaf

Joyce Bytof President Coldwell Banker, The Real Estate Group, Inc. Appleton

cc: Governor Jim Doyle Speaker John Gard Senator Mary Panzer Senator Jon Erpenbach Representative Jim Kreuser