US Department of Education Federal TRIO Programs

TRIO are Federal outreach and student services programs designed to identify and provide services for individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds. TRIO includes eight programs targeted to serve and assist low-income individuals, first-generation college students, and individuals with disabilities to progress through the academic pipeline from middle school to post-baccalaureate programs. TRIO also includes a training program for directors and staff of TRIO projects.

The recipients of the grants, depending on the specific program, are institutions of higher education, public and private agencies and organizations including community-based organizations with experience in serving disadvantaged youth and secondary schools. Combinations of such institutions, agencies, and organizations may also apply for grants. These entities plan, develop and carry out the services for students. While individual students are served by these entities, they may not apply for grants under these programs. Additionally, in order to be served by one of these programs, a student must be eligible to receive services and be accepted into a funded project that serves the institution or school that student is attending or the area in which the student lives.


TRIO Roster

UW-Eau Claire
Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement Program
Sanjukta Chaudhuri
2134 Old Library
103 Garfield Ave
Eau Claire, WI 54701
chaudhs@uwec.edu
(715) 836-4912

Student Support Services
Bruce Ouderkirk
2136 Old Library
103 Garfield Ave
Eau Claire, WI 54701
ouderkbj@uwec.edu
715-836-4542

Upward Bound
Kimamo Wahome
N/A
wahomek@uwec.edu
(715) 836-4873

UW-Green Bay
Regional Center for Math and Science
Michael Casbourne
1721 Student Services Building 1721
2420 Nicolet Drive
Green Bay, WI
casbourne@uwgb.edu
(920) 465-2445

Upward Bound
Michael Casbourne
UW-Green Bay, 2420 Nicolet Dr
Green Bay, WI
casbourne@uwgb.edu
(920) 465-2671

UW-La Crosse
Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program
Roger Haro
106 Graff Main Hall
1725 State St
La Crosse, WI 54601
rharo@uwlax.edu
(608) 785-6913

Student Support Services
Sylvia Jimison
2131 Centennial Hall
1725 State St
La Crosse, WI 54601
sjimison@uwlax.edu
(608) 785-8535

Upward Bound
Lisa Yang
176 Murphy,
1725 State St
La Crosse, WI 54601
lyang2@uwlax.edu
(608) 785-8539

UW-Madison
Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement Program
LaRuth McAfee, Asst. Dean, Diversity, Inclusion, and Funding
laruth.mcafee@wisc.edu
(608) 263-5517

Maya Holtzman, Assoc. Director
408 Bascom Hall,
500 Lincoln Drive
Madison, WI
bharati.holtzman@wisc.edu
(608) 263-5517

The Center for Educational Opportunity
Claudia Mosley
16 Ingraham Hall, 1155 Observatory Drive, Madison, WI 53706
ceo@cdo.wisc.edu
(608) 265-5106

UW-Marathon County
Student Support Services
Lisa Michalec
RM 085C
518 S 7th Ave
Wausau, WI 54401
lisa.michalec@uwc.edu
(715) 261-6214

UW-Milwaukee
Educational Opportunity Center
Rita Muwonge
Educational Opportunity Center
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
P.O. Box 413
Milwaukee WI 53201
muwonge@uwm.edu
(414) 229-2917

Student Support Services
Karen Parrish Baker
Mitchell Hall, 135
3203 North Downer Ave.
Milwaukee, WI 53201
bakerkp@uwm.edu
(414) 229-5598

Educational Talent Search
Vickie Leflore
Talent Search
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
P.O. Box 413
Milwaukee WI 53201
vleflore@uwm.edu
(414) 229-3813

Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement Program
Carmen Aguilar
Graduate Diversity and Opportunities Program
Graduate School, Mitchell #255
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
P.O. Box 340
Milwaukee, WI 53201
aguilar@uwm.edu
(414) 229-2464

Upward Bound
Erica Wyatte
Interim Director
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
P.O. Box 413
Milwaukee WI 53201
wyatte@uwm.edu
(414) 229-4433

Veterans Upward Bound
Charles Allen
Veterans Upward Bound
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
P.O. Box 413
Milwaukee WI 53201
ceallen@uwm.edu
(414) 229-2258

UW-Oshkosh
Ronald E. McNair Post-Baccalaureate Achievement Program
Cordelia Bowlus
Oshkosh, WI
bowlusc@uwosh.edu
(920) 424-7085

Student Support Services and
Student Support Services STEM
Nancy Harrison
Campus Center for Equity and Diversity
717 W. Irving Ave.
Oshkosh, WI 54901
harrison@uwosh.edu
(920) 424-1310

UW-Parkside
Student Support Services
Christopher Zanowski
zanowski@uwp.edu
(262) 595-2108

UW-Platteville
Student Support Services
Laura Franklin
105 Warner Hall, 1 University Plaza, Platteville, Wisconsin
franklinl@uwplatt.edu
(608) 342-1816

UW-River Falls
Ronald E. McNair Scholars Program
Evan Matson
Interim Director
140 Hagestad Hall
410 S. 3rd Street
River Falls WI
evan.matson@uwrf.edu
(715) 425-3528

Student Support Services
Karen Smolarek
River Falls WI
smolarek@uwrf.edu
(715) 425-3531

Upward Bound
Bee Vang
108 Regional Development Institute
410 S. 3rd Street
River Falls WI
bee.vang@uwrf.edu
(715) 425-3256

UW-Rocky County
Student Support Services
Julie Janiak
Andrews Hall, Room A02
2909 Kellogg Ave
Janesville, WI 53546
julie.janiak@uwc.edu
(608) 758-6565 ext. 480

UW-Stevens Point
Upward Bound
Judy Young
Room 204, Nelson Hall
2100 Main Street
Stevens Point, WI 54481
jyoung@uwsp.edu
(715) 346-2940

UW-Stout
Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement Program
Sarah Wynn
424 Bowman Hall,
712 South Broadway St
Menomonie, WI 54751
wynns@uwstout.edu
(715) 232-5490

Student Support Services
Angie Ruppe, Interim Director
ASPIRE Student Support Services, Disability Grant
310 Bowman Hall,
712 South Broadway St.
Menomonie, WI 54751
(715) 232-5180
ruppean@uwstout.edu

Angie Swenson-Holzinger, Interim Director
ASPIRE Student Support Services, Classic Grant
310 Bowman Hall,
712 South Broadway St.
Menomonie, WI 54751
(715) 232-5180

UW-Superior
Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement Program
Marsha Lue
Swenson Hall 2047,
Belknap and Catlin Ave
P.O. Box 2000
Superior, WI 54880
mfrancis@uwsuper.edu
(715) 394-8088

Student Support Services
Toua Thao
Swenson Hall 1024,
Belknap and Catlin Ave
P.O. Box 2000
Superior, WI 54880
tthao9@uwsuper.edu
(715) 394-8188

Upward Bound
Angie Hugdahl
Old Main 130,
Belknap and Catlin Ave
P.O. Box 2000
Superior, WI 54880
alindbe5@uwsuper.edu
(715) 394-8219

UW-Waukesha
Student Support Services
Schelzia Ross
N/A
schelzia.ross@uwc.edu
(262) 521-5127

UW-Whitewater
Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement Program
Whitney Supianoski
220 McCutchan Hall, 800 W Main St
Whitewater, WI 53190
JohnsonWD28@uww.edu
(262) 472-2804

Upward Bound
Ramon Ortiz
322 McCutchan Hall
800 W Main Street
Whitewater, WI 53190
ortizr@uww.edu
(262) 472-4985

Roster Update Requests

Please provide new contact information here.  

Notify