This is a UW System award recognizing outstanding service to campus and community. The selection process for the award is campus based. Chancellors consult with their campus community to identify a faculty, student, staff or community member who has worked in one or more of the following areas of diversity or women’ studies scholarship and activism, and served to improve the status and climate for women, particularly women of color. Each of the recipients are individuals who have consistently demonstrated their ability to rally diverse forces together to advance the agenda of women; who have created positive changes at their institutional level, i.e., curriculum development and infusion, receiving grants, mentoring women; and who have demonstrated an understanding of the interplay of family and community and culture in the lives of women of color.

You can view all of these recipients organized by UW Institution, as well as all past recipients listed from 1995 – 2018, formerly housed at the UW Women’s Studies Consortium.


Congratulations to the 2018 Outstanding Women of Color in Education Award Recipients!

Group photo of Outstanding Women of Color Award recipients

(from left) Laura Khoury, UW-Parkside; Kayoung Kim, UW-Oshkosh, UW-Fond du Lac campus; Manu Sharma, UW-River Falls; Mai Khou Xiong, UW-Oshkosh; Jan Larson, UW-Eau Claire; Graciela Engen, UW-La Crosse; Lorena Rios Mendoza, UW-Superior; María Yolanda Peña, UW-Madison Cooperative Extension; Brigitte Benitez-Vargas, UW-Stevens Point; Brenda Cárdenas, UW-Milwaukee; Otaasia Barfield, UW-Stout; Jacqueline Hunter, UW-Platteville; and Alana Dallas, UW-Green Bay Not pictured: Christy Clark-Pujara, UW-Madison; Ozalle Toms, UW-Whitewater (Photo by Ethan Schuh, UW System)

  • Jan Larson, UW-Eau Claire
  • María Yolanda Peña, UW-Extension
  • Alana Dallas, UW-Green Bay
  • Graciela Engen, UW-La Crosse
  • Christy Clark-Pujara, UW-Madison
  • Brenda Cárdenas, UW-Milwaukee
  • Kayoung Kim, UW-Oshkosh
  • Mai Khou Xiong, UW-Oshkosh
  • Laura Khoury, UW-Parkside
  • Jacqueline Hunter, UW-Platteville
  • Manu Sharma, UW-River Falls
  • Brigitte Benitez-Vargas, UW-Stevens Point
  • Otaasia Barfeld, UW-Stout
  • Lorena Rios Mendoza, UW-Superior
  • Ozalle Toms, UW-Whitewater