

## Office of the President

1700 Van Hise Hall 1220 Linden Drive Madison, Wisconsin 53706-1559 (608) 262-2321 Phone (608) 262-3985 Fax

e-mail: rcross@uwsa.edu website: <u>www.wisconsin.edu/</u>

June 7, 2017

The Honorable Paul Ryan Member of Congress 1233 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Ryan:

The Perkins Loan Extension Act of 2017, H.R. 2482, was introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives. We are writing to ask that you cosponsor the legislation. The bill was introduced with strong bipartisan support to extend the Federal Perkins Loan program for an additional two years beyond its current sunset date of September 30, 2017.

In March, the UW Board of Regents adopted a resolution in support of extending the Perkins Loan program until the financial aid system and student loans can be more broadly reformed through the Higher Education Act reauthorization. The UW System supports consolidation and simplification of the federal grant and loan plans. However, until those major policy questions are determined, our institutions need the ability to accommodate the high demand from financially-struggling students for financial aid.

In 2015-16, nearly 14,000 Perkins awards were made to UW System students, totaling \$25.4 million. Our institutions have contributed significantly to the program over the years, underwriting at least one-third of the necessary funds to a revolving loan fund that serves students with unmet needs.

Again, thank you for your consideration of this request to cosponsor H.R. 2482, the Perkins Loan Extension Act of 2017. Please contact Patrick Hester with Congresswoman Elise Stefanik by email at Patrick.hester@mail.house.gov or Alicia Molt with Congressman Mark Pocan by email at Alicia.molt@mail.house.gov to cosponsor the bill.

Respectfully,

The President and Chancellors of the University of Wisconsin System

ay have

Ray Cross, President

Universities: Madison, Milwaukee, Eau Claire, Green Bay, La Crosse, Oshkosh, Parkside, Platteville, River Falls, Stevens Point, Stout, Superior, Whitewater. Colleges: Baraboo/Sauk County, Barron County, Fond du Lac, Fox Valley, Manitowoc, Marathon County, Marinette, Marshfield/Wood County, Richland, Rock County, Sheboygan, Washington County, Waukesha. Extension: Statewide.

James Schmidt Chancellor, UW-Eau Claire

Joe Gow Chancellor, UW-La Crosse

Thank q. Thom

Mark Mone Chancellor, UW-Milwaukee

church L. Ford

Deborah L. Ford Chancellor, UW-Parkside

Dean Van Ballen

Dean Van Galen Chancellor, UW-River Falls

Kund terro

Robert Meyer Chancellor, UW-Stout

Beverly Kopper

Beverly Kopper Chancellor, UW-Whitewater

Cary F. Miller

Gary Miller Chancellor, UW-Green Bay

Rebecca Blank

Rebecca Blank Chancellor, UW-Madison

Andrew Leavitt Chancellor, UW-Oshkosh

J. Aluelo

Dennis Shields Chancellor, UW-Platteville

Beenie

Bernie Patterson Chancellor, UW-Stevens Point

Kenie M. Walt

Renée Wachter Chancellor, UW-Superior

John Sander

Cathy Sandeen Chancellor, UW Colleges/Extension