Office of Risk Management

Sustainability

Our University of Wisconsin institutions have produced a long legacy of environmental awareness and stewardship that has greatly influenced human ethics, laws and practices, extending well beyond the boundaries of the state to the entire planet. This legacy can be found in the writings of Muir and Leopold, the laws of Gaylord Nelson, our university system’s diverse research and academic disciplines, and the dedication of our faculty, students, and staff to carry these ideas and commitments forward.  
As a result, it is our desire as a system of university institutions, that our commitments and behaviors be ecologically sound, economically efficient, and socially responsible now, and for future generations to come. We see a sustainable future for our system where:

  • students, faculty and staff develop a shared ethic of responsibility;
  • our statewide commitment to the environment is honored; and
  • sustainable principles, practices and values are infused into the culture of our institutions as they continue to change and grow.

Campus Sustainability Websites

Campus Website

Sustainability Contact

Email

UW-Eau Claire

 Christina Hupy

hupycm@uwec.edu

UW-Green Bay

Laurie Case

casel@uwgb.edu

UW-La Crosse

Dan Sweetman

dsweetman@uwlax.edu

UW-Madison

Frank Kooistra
Sabrina Bradshaw
Dwayne Williams

fkooistra@fpm.wisc.edu sbradshaw@wisc.edu
dwilliams@fpm.wisc.edu

UW-Milwaukee

Kate Nelson

knelson6@uwm.edu

UW-Oshkosh

Brian Kermath

kermathb@uwosh.edu

UW-Parkside

Don Kolbe

donald.kolbe@uwp.edu

UW-Platteville

Amy Seeboth

seebotha@uwplatt.edu

UW-River Falls

Bethany Gapinski

bethany.gapinski@uwrf.edu

UW-Stevens Point

Dave Barbier

dave.barbier@uwsp.edu

UW-Stout

Sarah Rykal

rykals@uwstout.edu

UW-Superior

Tom Fennessey

tfenness@uwsuper.edu

UW-Whitewater

Wesley Enterline

EnterlinWJ03@uww.edu

UW Colleges

Steve Wildeck

steve.wildeck@uwex.uwc.edu

UW-Extension

Maria Alvarez-Stroud

maria.alvarez-stroud@uwex.uwc.edu

UW System

Eileen Norby
Greta Iliev
Greg Wanek
Helen Klebesadel
Ruth Ginzberg

enorby@uwsa.edu
giliev@uwsa.edu
gwanek@uwsa.edu
hklebesadel@uwsa.edu
rginzberg@uwsa.edu

RecycleMania

 

recycle mania logo

UW System System Sustainability Meetings

coordinators  students

UW System Surplus Page

Student Sustainability Groups

Sustain Quarterly Newsletters
*2012 UW System Green Energy Summit SlideshowPDF Icon
*2013 UW System Sustainability Summit SlideshowPDF Icon
*Campus Sustainability Efforts Matrix (April 2014)PDF Icon

 

External Sustainability Sites

AASHE - Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education

UW AASHE Members: UW Colleges, UW-Eau Claire, UW-Green Bay, UW-La Crosse, UW-Milwaukee, UW-Madison, UW-Oshkosh, UW-River Falls, UW-Stevens Point, UW-Stout, UW-Superior, UW System, UW Whitewater

ACUPCC - American College & University Presidents' Climate Commitment

AROW - Associated Recyclers of Wisconsin

BMRA - Building Materials Reuse Association

Call2Recycle - Rechargeable Battery Recycling

EPA Food Recovery Challenge

EPA Game Day Challenge


Focus on Energy

NACUBO - Sustainability Page for National Association of College and University Business Officers

NACUFS - The National Association of College & University Food Service

National Recycling Coalition

Recycle More Wisconsin

RecycleMania

Responsible Purchasing Network

SHWEC - Solid and Hazardous Waste Education Center

Upper Midwest Association for Campus Sustainability

USCC - U.S. Composting Council

UW-Extension Sustainable Communities Capacity Center

WasteCap - Resource Solutions

WI LEED Certified Buildings

Zimride

Zipcar


*For more information please contact: Eileen Norby, (608) 262-8252
**Find us on Facebook! Facebook Icon

Links on these pages to external sites do not necessarily represent endorsement by the University of Wisconsin-System.

Last updated: April 21, 2014